Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This listing is no longer available.

View other listings in Amaroo, Franklin, Harrison, Gungahlin.

Josh, Male 28yrs

Online about 1 month ago

Rent budget


Preferred stay length

1 year or more

Move date


About me

Hi, my name is Josh and I am 28 years old.

I currently live in a great share house, and love my housemates, but under unique circumstances (family tragedy), I find myself looking for a new house, and leaving this current house with a good relationship with my former housemates.

My intent is to be a home owner within 2-4 years, so the purpose of sharing is finding somewhere nice and affordable to live while I progress my bank savings to buy somewhere of my own. Of course, living in a sharehouse, I'd also want to be happy and comfortable too. I will talk about cleaning later, however, as I am ambitious to own a house, my philosophy is to treat a house with respect because one day, people will rent my house, and I'd want it respected and not abused.

As a housemate, I consider myself clean, however, I've noticed everybody thinks and says they are clean, but then when living with people, you notice some really mean it, while others can be rather lazy or careless or only clean before an inspection when it is too late. I am not pedantic about cleaning, but I appreciate a clean house. I think feedback and maybe a roster is the best way to balance a clean house and make sure everybody contributes, and that one poor bugger is not holding up the house alone. Sometimes perceived laziness is also just one having a false sense of security. I'd rather be told if I am overlooking something important.

I work full-time in the public service, and travel a lot for work. I also try to go to my gym as much as I can. This means, there could be times when I am not home, leaving a house quiet. With that said, in the few days I am back home, I know I have to make my cleaning contributions (and I also seek to wash my clothes etc in such days) before hitting the road again. Sometimes, I feel like goes so fast living like this, but at least it means a work vacation comes sooner! :-)

I am extroverted at times, but I also work in a demanding job, and push myself hard at the gym, so there can be times where I will be quiet, and just relaxing in my room, and watching a dvd with my earphones. Please don't mistake me as anti-social or depressed (I'll say I am feeling down if I was...), but rather, I am just somewhat relaxing and recovering (lol). The same goes with cooking... I can cook a lot of dishes, but sometimes, I eat easy to make meals, then quietly clean up my mess, and then go in my room. I'll be louder other nights, but mostly, I am quiet and almost not there.

I hope to be as good of a housemate as I can acknowledging there will be times I am quiet, or not at home. Another thing is, while I don't mind if other housemates do it, I don't abuse gas heating, and tend to brave the weather until I hit my peak. I just don't feel right in over using the utilities because every other sharemate would then have to pay bills for something I am responsible for. Hence, I try to turn off powerpoints I am not using etc. Not in a pedantic way, but just in a respectful way.

Other than that, I love music, news and current affairs, sports and family. I am originally from North Queensland and love to see my family when I can. Rest assured, I am content and happy living in Canberra, and unless things are not working out in the house, I am looking for 12-18 months to share a place. That is the right balance to meet somebody new and enjoy a new house before going our separate ways in life.



Working full time
No pets
No children

Preferred accommodation types

Room(s) in an existing share house
Studio flats for rent
Granny flat for rent
1 bedroom flat for rent
Whole properties for sharing
Shared Room

Josh is also interested in Teaming-Up and starting a new share house.

Preferred locations

Franklin ACT 2913
Gungahlin ACT 2912
Amaroo ACT 2914
Harrison ACT 2914
This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.