Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

simon

Free to message66 year old male
$250/wk

Budget

3 months

Stay length

28 Oct

Move date

Contact simon

About me

I am seeking a Tasmanian base over Xmas and New Year from which to explore and contribute to Tassie culture. I will start in Hobart on 28Oct20.
I 'live' worldwide. That means living with family, friends, sharing, by myself in homes, homesits, homestays, airbnb, hostels etc. I have a personal pension from which I volunteer my professional environmental and sustainability services and help people wherever I go. Mainly online as a digital nomad. I am very interested in cultural and community interconnectedness, enjoy the arts (music, art, community choir, online entertainment) and outdoor activities (hiking, cycling, orienteering, sailing, rafting) and maintain a healthy way of life (semi veg, non-smoker, pilates, yoga).
I am easy to live with: worldly (about 80 countries), happy to share above, social and private, versatile, adaptable, self-reliant and positive. Indeed, I practice what I preach and integrate well!
For example, over 9 months in 2019 in South America, I lived with locals and built biocapacity there on 20 projects. In 2017 it was the Himalayas and 2018 Western Europe.
I am currently working across Oceania and in SEAsia. For example, the photo is while book packing for Books4PNGKids, a NFP that advances Pacific Island literacy by reusing pre-loved Aussie books.
I have visited Tasmania twice (active holidays) and am now looking forward to a longer stay.
My preferred approach is to: 1) negotiate a broad definition of sharing that I'm used to, e.g. sharing meals, cooking, chores, knowledge-broking, host/cohost, pet care, garden/home maint etc and 2) test the agreement before committing to a lengthy stay. For example, currently I am homesitting a friend's 3 bed Queenslander in CBD Brisbane over 8 months: caring for the home and maintaining its prolific garden.

Working part time

Property preferences

Furnished roomRequired
BathroomFlexible
Max no. of flatmatesFlexible
InternetRequired
ParkingFlexible

Preferred accommodation types

Room(s) in an existing share house
Studio flats for rent
Granny flat for rent
Homestay