Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Daniel and Luan

Early BirdMan (49) and Man (16)


12 months

Stay length


Move date

Daniel's verifications
Facebook verified
Contact Daniel

About us

* Actively looking now (20 January 2022). Wishing to move in the upcoming few weeks. Flexible.

Easy going son &; dad team, exploring a scaled-down lifestyle from the larger family configuration to one where we can travel light amid a work-from-home setup. We wish for 2 rooms in a real homey place with flexible arrangements so we can scout the great outdoors in our leisure time.

Right now we just need to land in an area that'll entice us to easily and often get out of our indoors rut. It'll be good for Luan (14) to independently visit viby spots in the vicinity of where we'll reside, without having to be driven by car/bus for very far.

Read more below... or just phone me directly to get it from the horse's mouth.

I randomly selected a few suburbs in and around the city, but remain open to most areas - listed or not. Brisbane, Gold-Coast, Sunshine-Coast, etc. (Even Toowoomba).

I'm a work from home dad (IT professional) with a 14 year old teenage son, also home schooled. We are calm, quiet reserved individuals with very neat and clean habits and enjoy a quiet social life. We like warm individuals with a good sense of humour and of the true things that matter. We love hiking, doing one day driving trips, exploring the wider area and having excursions to museums and galleries. We'll enjoy good company and stimulating chats with flat mates, but won't require high levels of interaction.

Our cooking is simple; our indoor activities low-key. We greatly value integrity and consideration for others. We regard ourselves as presenting responsible and mature conduct. We prefer a family friendly (PG rated) lifestyle, but also appreciate it balanced with a vibrant atmosphere, fun exchanges and laughter around a few drinks, snacks , games, good music and good movies.

* We have to insist on the entire interior (and shared outdoor entertainment area) to remain a non-smoking one during our stay.

We'll prefer warm, homey and sunny environments above cold, gloomy or hollow-ish interiors. A residential area that is good, safe, family friendly and nice on the eye is important to us. We preferably are looking for 2 separate rooms, but won't mind sharing a large room with 2 beds if we then could have separate desk spaces for separate work-time elsewhere in a homey house. We're big on regional country areas and farm sceneries; less so on city and urban areas. We do NOT have a big need to be close to coffee-shops, pubs and social hangout spots, but we won't mind.

We love animals and consider ourselves dogs' best friends, but we don't appreciate couches and clothing excessively covered with animal hair. We don't care for streets and areas with noisy traffic, party animals and non-stop barking dogs. We do however like scenes and sounds of farm animals. I like fiddling in the garden and Luan likes helping and learning.

Originally from South Africa (Afrikaans speaking), we've been in Australia for 4 years. I have a good stable income, having been with the same large Australian company for the same period.

We'll, at the very least, bring our own bedding and my own hand picked desk chair. We're open to establish sharing arrangements on equipment and to fill the gaps on what remain for us. We gladly share whatever non-consumables we bring/acquire, but mostly only have need for the most basic. We also love sharing our passions in food and culture and are eager to learn from others on theirs.

We thoroughly clean after ourselves and will voluntarily & regularly clean shared living areas by wiping, sweeping, vacuuming, etc.

I have my own vehicle and wish to have it parked off-street and under cover, but that is not a major deal-breaker for me.

To satisfy curiosity: My very recent marriage separation has led us to opt to move away from the large home and the more rooted lifestyle to something simplistic and flexible for just the two of us. As a 'micro-family' with work-from-home schedules to accommodate such an approach, for the next few months we prefer to explore our options before deciding on a new fixed long term home and belongings.

Although I will thus not look to necessarily commit to super long term agreements, we'd likely want to establish a level of stability with raised probabilities of becoming grounded where we land if the people and community prove to be one where we feel at home. In turn it may serve to provide a level of confidence to future house-mates and `landlords` alike, still keeping things flexible for both sides.

Despite wanting to be clear about our preferences, we're actually not pedantic at all, but very easy-going and accommodating individuals. We unashamedly carry the true Christian flag and appreciate & take good care of what is ours ... and look after what is yours as if it is our own.

Looking forward to meet YOU if it is a match to be made.

( Don't mind my response rate listed here. I prefer typing on my laptop when in front of it... or better yet even speaking on the phone. I do always answer messages within a day or so if you prefer text. )

* We'd like to read in your listing/message about arrangements around: Fridge, freezer &; pantry space; Usage of appliances &; utensils; Cooking time routines; Sharing of TV- and other entertainment areas.
* We'd rather like to see recent pictures of your listed home, inside and out as it is, instead of photos taken by a property agency and photos of unfurnished interiors.
* We'd love to know more about you as a person and those we will connect with.

Working full time

Property preferences


Furnished roomRequired
Max no. of flatmatesFlexible

Preferred accommodation types

Room(s) in an existing share house
Whole properties for sharing
Studio flats for rent
Granny flat for rent
One bed flat for rent