Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

The Avenue, Parkville, Melbourne

Private room with shared bathroom

Flatshare

Flatshare

3 Bedrooms

3 Beds

2 Bathrooms

2 Baths

3 Flatmates

3 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
FurnishingUnfurnished
AvailableDec 16, 2017
Length of StayMinimum 1 year
GenderFemales

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$217
Bond3 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetNot available
ParkingOff street parking

Hi, we are looking for a clean, quiet, mature female to replace our outgoing housemate.

The room fits a queen-sized bed and other furniture such as; a chest of drawers, desk, bedside table, it is light and airy and has a great view over Royal Park. It has large mirrored built-in wardrobes but will be otherwise unfurnished.

The apartment is in a converted Victorian terrace with large windows and high ceilings making it feel super spacious. It overlooks Royal Park, just a short stroll from Melbourne Zoo. So close in fact we can hear the lions roar and the siamang gibbons calling without needing to leave the flat!

The apartment complex includes: secure entrance with intercom, shared courtyard, secure underground garage with two parking sports (plus we have a transferable permit for on street parking), bicycle racks, small gym with sauna and a little storage cage.

Parkville borders Brunswick, Carlton and North Melbourne. It is surrounded by green space but a stone's throw from several major shopping and cafe strips so its an ideal location if you work for the hospitals, Uni of Melbourne, Monash Pharmacy campus, any of the businesses along Royal Parade or anywhere in the CBD.

Transport wise we are an easy walk from:
- no 19 tram along Royal Parade
- Royal Park train station (Upfield line)
- no 55 tram through Royal Park
- Bike tracks through Princes Park and Royal Park
- less than one hour walk to the middle of the CBD

Bills etc: Gas, electricity and internet are split three ways (works out approx $25pp/pw more in winter, less in summer). We have a kitty for shared consumables like cleaning products, toilet paper etc but otherwise take care of our own groceries and cooking separately, with the occasional shared meal, pizza delivery or trip to the local pub for a counter meal.

We are linked to the NBN (fibre to the basement) but we cancelled our account with our Internet Service Provider earlier this year as it was so terrible. We are looking at options for a new service provider and we can negotiate this with the incoming flatmate.

Application: We rent through a real estate company so incoming tenants need to fill out an application to the property manager for approval (and pay their $110 processing fee) before moving in. Rent is $939.25pcm on the first of the month ($216.75pw). Bond is $650.

The move in time is flexible - by negotiation with the outgoing flatmate.

We want someone who is clean, independent, considerate, responsible and friendly, and mature enough to openly communicate with her flatmates about any concerns, dislikes, negotiations etc. Someone who will treat the place like her home (not a hostel) and treat her flatmates with courtesy, respect and friendship.

No smokers (or other drugs), couples, pets or short stays.

Flatmates

Your new flatmates:

Susie is an international student from Germany who also works in hospitality and likes yoga and reading in the sun.

Jenny: Home is usually where I like to relax and unwind so I'm fairly quiet when I'm at home. I have a diverse range of interests and like a good conversation over a coffee / glass of wine at home or out. I have lived in share accommodation for many years, as well as stings on my own, so I am a considerate flatmate re cleanliness, privacy etc and appreciate the same from my flatmates. I am have regular extended weekends away interstate so there will be times when I am not around. I am employed in state government (Health and Human Services) part time and also volunteer running a pro-choice NGO in my spare time, among other activities.

If you are interested in coming to see our place, let us know about yourself and your contact details, through the site message system.


Contact Jenny
Online Yesterday
Verified:AustraliaWhat's this?
Early bird access required

Nearest Cafés and Restaurants

Laureate RestaurantClose by
Curve Restaurant + BarClose by
Vibe Hotel Carlton MelbourneClose by
Primary CafeClose by
Le-Zodiaque Cafeteria3 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Universities

Monash University, Parkville3 min walk
RMIT, Brunswick22 min walk
University of Melbourne, Parkville27 min walk

Nearest Train Stations

Ievers St/Royal Pde #17 3 min walk
Walker St/Royal Pde #16 4 min walk
Visy Park/Royal Pde #16 4 min walk
Princes Park/Royal Pde #18 7 min walk
Royal Park 8 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Bus Stops

Melbourne Zoo/Poplar Rd 4 min walk
Princes Park/Royal Pde 5 min walk
Royal Park Station/Poplar Rd 10 min walk
Jewell Railway Station/Brunswick Rd 11 min walk
Sydney Rd/Brunswick Rd 12 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Supermarkets

Mix Oriental Supermarket (Asian Grocery)14 min walk
Woolworths Barkly Square14 min walk
Gervasi Continental Deli15 min walk
Coles15 min walk
The Source Bulk Foods Brunswick15 min walk
+ Show more