Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Balmain, Sydney.

Thames Street, Balmain, Sydney

Private room with shared bathroom



2 Bedrooms

2 Beds

1 Bathrooms

1 Baths

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
Length of StayMinimum 6 months
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$278
Bond4 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingOff street parking

Modern, light-drenched 2 bedroom apartment in phenomenal location with own private beach (I know, right?), stunning views of harbour and city. Adjacent to harbourside park, with relaxing balcony, polished wooden floorboards, and efficient, open kitchen with gas stove and oven.

House has all the requirements for modern, consumerist, soulless living. Um, I mean convenient, engaging, fulfilling living. Yes, that's what I mean. Super fast internet for downloading covers of Seal's "Kissed by a rose" (I suppose that it can be used for other things as well, but honestly, I've never really tried). A television that has both image and sound (in COLOUR).

Beautiful, comfortable lounge. Solid timber dining table, and a semi-ironic set of babushkas. Wait, I read somewhere that wasn't actually what they were called....What was it again? ..Ummm. First night's dinner is on me for person who can tell me the real name of those doll things. You know what I mean. The inside-the-other ones. Love those things.

The balcony looks out over the water and a popular park. If the sound of children's laughter fills you with a depressing-and-soul-destroying-anger-that-reminds-of-all-that-is-lacking-in-your-own-pathetic-life, you probably shouldn't move in. Or just bring ear plugs. The balcony has a timber table and chairs, so is perfect for morning coffee, afternoon Pimms, or midday coffee-mixed-with-Pimms. Actually, that sounds horrible. Don't do that.

The balcony has a lovely little herb, flower and chilli garden. I'm actually kind of proud of it. Its a special feeling when things you plant decide not to die. Life-affirming. The garden needs to be watered twice a day, so if you are say, the heir to a concrete dynasty, and not happy promoting the life of inner-city gardens, then maybe this isn't the place for you...... Actually, how big is your dynasty? Let's not rule anything out. Call me.

I'll post some pics, but if you have any questions about the place, give me a buzz and I'd be happy to answer them or send you a pic.

This is the first place I have lived in that wasn't in the inner-east or west, and I was a little concerned it was a little ways out of the city. I couldn't have been more wrong. It takes 10 minutes to drive to the CBD, 25 minutes to cycle, and a ferry only takes 12 minutes. Plus you get to catch a freaking boat on the most beautiful harbour in the world for like $4.60. Outstanding. 12 minute ferry ride to Circular Quay from pretty much the front door, superb.

Refurbished, cosy room. Don't really know what else to say....Um...Four walls?.....There's a door in one?...Two large windows in another?...Not immune to the laws of physics......Look, lets be honest, it's not the largest room in the world, but its cute, with new carpet, and its absolutely drenched in sunlight if you're into that. "The room is actually a really good size. It's not too small at all...and stop making me read these weird things"- Actual quote from current occupant.

The room is actually a good size for one person, but it wouldn't hold a couple. Just wanted to be up front about that, so you weren't expecting some converted warehouse type room with high ceilings and expansive spaces and so much room that you start questioning the futility of human existence. Definitely none of that going on here. 100 percent the opposite of futile, this room.

Hello, my name's Zan, I'm a 29 year old guy (thought I should just clarify that, bit of a girly name. Thanks, hippy parents). I work full time in Redfern, and I work shifts, so my hours are all over the place. I'm into kayaking, hiking, sport, reading, music and having people over for a sneaky dinner party. I'm social, neat, respectful and outgoing.

I love cooking, an affection that sadly probably isn't commensurate with my skill in this area, but I'm learning. I have a car and a kayak, both of which you are welcome to use if needed. The car is manual, so if you'd like to use it you'll have to be able to drive a stick. The kayak is yellow, so if you'd like to use it you'll have to be able to swallow your pride.

I'm relaxed about nearly everything, easygoing, and, in the words of my current housemate: "probably not the worst person I've ever lived with". Pretty glowing review, right?

I'm a very social person, so I would love to live with someone I can chat to and share a beer or coffee with every now and then. So if you are someone who hates human interaction and would rather watch The Mentalist than talk about your day, maybe you wouldn't like living with me....Maybe I'm being too hard on that show. I've never actually seen it. Is it any good? Maybe you can tell me. Over a beer.

That said, I'm very respectful of space, privacy, and I'm keenly aware of the requirements to successfully share a home with someone. As I mentioned earlier, sometimes I work nights, both on the weekend and the weekdays, so sometimes you'll have the place completely to yourself. When we are both around, I'd love to share meals, and am happy to make meals for two.

I don't have any preference regarding gender, sexuality or income. I would prefer to be the funniest person in the house, but (as you can probably tell) this probably won't be the case, so am flexible on this point. Someone in their twenties or thirties would probably be the best fit, but again I don't mind student or professional, as long as paying rent is no problem. I don't smoke myself, and actually really dislike it, so would prefer a non-smoker, however there is a lovely backyard by the water where you can smoke if you would like, but if you do it would probably be best if you had some other awesome redeeming quality. Like perfect pitch or a 64 or something.

I'd like someone that is happy to talk about any issues that may arise in the home, is friendly, kind, and sociable. Feel free to contact me with any questions or anything regarding the place. My current housemate is moving out with his girl in mid July, so there is a little bit of wriggle room with the move in dates. Love a bit of wriggle room. Very important.

This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.