Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

May Street, Altona North, Melbourne

Private room with shared bathroom

Share house

Share house

3 Bedrooms

3 Beds

1 Bathrooms

1 Baths

1 Flatmates

1 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
Length of StayMinimum 6 months
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$220
Bond4 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingOff street parking

I'm seeking a dependable, fun at heart, down-to-earth, civilised person to share my 3 bedroom home.

Positioned in a peaceful, quiet, wide street, the house has just been fully renovated while still retaining its 1950's period charm, including art deco ceiling cornices. There are freshly polished floorboards in the living areas, but comfy carpet in the bedrooms.

I'm only advertising 1 room, as currently I've set up the 3rd bedroom as a study & 2nd sitting room (complete with another large 55" screen TV).

The room for rent is west-facing, with a wardrobe, bed, book case, desk & chair, and has a ceiling fan. The house is fully furnished with contemporary furniture, and the Lounge Room is light-filled, has a stunning sandstone mantelpiece, a 55" Large Screen Smart HD LCD TV, a Blue Ray/DVD Player, Foxtel, Netflix. There's also a gorgeous Gas Log Fireplace which warms the whole house.

The Gas Log Fireplace really gives the illusion of being an open fire, but without the mess, & the heat it provides is extremely effective. There's also a huge Split System Air Conditioner in the house. There are ceiling fans in each bedroom, & together with the air conditioner it's easy to keep the house comfortable & cool on hot summer days & nights too.

There's a separate Kitchen and Dining Area, & the Lounge Room has French Doors opening onto the front verandah which overlooks a lovely lush front lawn.

There's also a separate laundry & 2nd loo, and the main Bathroom is brand new & has a bath.

The Kitchen is also brand new with Bosch Stainless Steel dishwasher and extra-large, wide, 5 burner Stainless Steel Stove (gas) and large, wide, fan-forced oven. All the kitchen cabinetry is new, complete with soft-closing drawers and cupboards, providing plenty of storage space.

There is a covered entertaining area outside at the back of the house, with a large BBQ with hood ; 4 burners, a grill & hotplate. The undercover area is light & bright, leading onto a lovely blue-slate paved courtyard, bordered by a herb garden & large lime, lemon & apple trees flanking the fence (both the lime and lemon trees are laden with fresh fruit - I am always giving bags of lemons and limes away to appreciative friends & family). There's a small garden shed plus a large raised veggie patch. It's a lovely space, easy to maintain, and ideal for entertaining or relaxing & chilling out.

I have 2 whippets, who are mother and daughter (named Phoenix and Mynx) who are extremely gentle and friendly, but not boisterous. They love people but are very low maintenance and clean.

There are numerous bus stops 2 minutes walk away, with frequent buses. Newport Railway Station and Altona Railway Station are within walking distance too.

A little about me: a country girl at heart, I am 46, and work from home as a Professional Writer & Editor. I used to be a Human Resources Manager, so I also provide Industrial Relations advice and Employment & Recruitment services as a Consultant.

I love music, comedy, reading, writing, cooking and relaxing with my dogs, or walking them along the beach (did I mention the beach is a few minutes away?) and am always up for good conversation over a glass of wine. I also like going to films, live comedy, live music of a wide variety - although I can sometimes be a bit of a homebody too.

By providing such a detailed description of my happy household, I hope I've given you the sense that it's not just a house but a home, a haven & sanctuary - a drama-free and chilled out space.

Located in Altona North, bordering Yarraville & Newport, the house is walking distance to Second Avenue shops & deli's, The Circle shops, Altona Gate Shopping Centre, Borrack Square Shopping Centre, and 2 minutes drive to the WestGate Freeway, but also minutes to the beach. It's only 10 kilometres from Melbourne CBD.

Rent is $220 per week. I have WiFi too. Bond is $1000 and there's parking right outside the house.

If this sounds like a place you could easily call 'home', please get in touch to arrange an opportunity for us to meet & for you to view the house :-)
P.S. Free Cleaner every fortnight

Contact Chantal
Online 3 days ago
Verified:AustraliaMore info
Free to Message


Nearest Bus Stops

Fifth Ave/Blackshaws Rd ~ 3 min walk
Huxtable Ave/Blackshaws Rd ~ 3 min walk
Seventh Ave/Blackshaws Rd ~ 5 min walk
May St/Millers Rd ~ 5 min walk
Second Ave/Blackshaws Rd ~ 5 min walk
Valerian Ave/Blackshaws Rd ~ 5 min walk
Walker Cl/Millers Rd ~ 5 min walk
First Ave/Blackshaws Rd ~ 5 min walk
Blackshaws Rd/Millers Rd ~ 6 min walk
McArthurs Rd/Millers Rd ~ 6 min walk
May St/Mills St ~ 6 min walk
Blackshaws Rd/Mills St ~ 7 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Cafés and Restaurants

Hungry Jack's Altona North~ 5 min walk
Blackshaws Rd Fish & Chips~ 6 min walk
Eastern Dawn Bakery~ 6 min walk
KFC Altona North~ 6 min walk
Subway¬ģ Restaurant~¬†6¬†min¬†walk
McDonald's Altona~ 6 min walk
Pizza King Altona North~ 7 min walk
Sunny Phong Bakery~ 8 min walk
Better Fresh~ 8 min walk
Seaside Flatbread Cafe~ 8 min walk
Tong Sing Chinese Take Away~ 8 min walk
Borrack Square~ 8 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Supermarkets

Second Avenue Supermarket~ 6 min walk
Altona Fresh Fine Foods~ 6 min walk
bb~ 8 min walk
Woolworths Altona North~ 8 min walk
Coles Supermarkets~ 11 min walk
ALDI Altona North~ 12 min walk
Banat Continental Butchers & Smallgoods~ 18 min walk
Altona North IGA~ 18 min walk
International Foods~ 18 min walk
Fruit And Vegetables Altona North~ 18 min walk
Amira Foods~ 22 min walk
+ Show more