Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Fitzroy, Melbourne.

Gore Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne

Private room with shared bathroom

Share house

Share house

4 Bedrooms

4 Beds

1 Bathrooms

1 Baths

3 Flatmates

3 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
FurnishingFurnished
AvailableNow
Length of StayMinimum 4 months
GenderCouples

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$230
Bond2 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingOn street parking

Preferences

Pets considered

Room for couple in Fitzroy townhouse available July, 2017.

A fresh, large, well lit room on first floor (2 windows facing east) coming available in our home in July. Fully furnished with double bed, desk, arm chair, mirror, heater, shelves and small built in robe, the room is ideal for a professional/studying couple. We're very sad to see our current housemates vacate to start their own home. We've found the dynamic has worked very well in the house and would like another couple to take their place

In the heart of Melbourne's hip Fitzroy, we're a stone's throw from groovy Gertrude St, and a short stroll to vibrant Brunswick and Smith streets. On the 86, 12, 11 and 109 tram lines, the city is only 5 minutes away. We're also walking or biking distance to the cbd. And the train station is nearby.

The house has a warm and homely feel, with comfy living room, and lovely garden settings in front and back so plenty of space to share or find some quiet space for yourself. A 4 bedroom terrace, you'd be living with 2 single women (Neha, 24 year old master's of architecture student, and me, 37 year old ICU nurse) and my beautiful 2 year old boy. Neha is a very down to earth, caring individual who enjoys baking delicious vegan treats, reading a LOT of books, engaging in community development and volunteer programs and not shy of a little Netflix binge with candy. Me, my interests have warped a little since becoming a mummy. It does take up a large chunk of my time and mental space, but I feel I'm gradually coming out the other side and rediscovering my own self again. Excited to be starting work again after 2 years off. Love a good book on self development (ok, and potty training). Would love to get back into sewing. Used to be right into creating costumes for festivals and fancy dress parties. Total movie nut. And lover of 80's pop music. Actually, anything 80's. The bub is a beautiful smiley boy, who loves people. Lots of energy like most 2 year olds. And loves to play more than anything. I try to release much of his energy in daily outings to parks, museums, the zoo, etc. Trantrums do occur as to be expected. We respond to his growing pains by helping him express his feelings while establishing clear boundaries and rules for his safety and security, and our sanity πŸ˜‰ He sleeps in my room, and we have a spare room for out-of-town guests which all are welcome to make use of for visiting family and friends.

For obvious reasons this is not a party house. No smokers, substance users or heavy drinkers. We're clean living, environmentally conscious and "predominantly" vegetarian (ie. we don't prepare any meat at home and would like to keep it this way if possible). That's not to say we don't enjoy a glass of wine from time to time, or know the benefits of a good pizza place. And we all have our secret stash of chocolate somewhere. But we try to live sustainably, take care of ourselves and each other, and we're not out partying every weekend or bringing the party home. I guess we're pretty normal people.

We get along really well together and when we're home we occasionally share a meal or hang out with a movie, drink tea and eat cake, and of course there's many moments spent helping Miles navigate this big exciting world. Ideally we'd like people who can interact with children. It is important that Miles develops a connection with the people who live here for his emotional development and security. But we also respect one another's personal space and have our own lives.

All the usual appliances are here: fridge, freezer, washer, dryer, oven, microwave, blender, food processor, TV/DVD, gas heating in the living room, and portable oil heaters in the bedrooms. In the summer the house stays pretty cool downstairs, but fans help in the upstairs rooms. The bathroom has a toilet, shower over bathtub, and seperate vanity area with large mirror. There's a second W.C in the back garden. There's also an outdoor rower in the shed people are welcome to use.

We keep the house very clean and reasonably tidy, and would like a couple who will contribute equally to house work and maintenance. Miles has his own playpen which keeps his toys under control. There's a vegie and herb garden out back that welcomes green thumbs. A local cat also likes to pay us a visit for cuddles. Oh. We have a large TV but no free to air TV reception so viewing is restricted to DVDs, hardrives, and internet (eg Netflix binging).

Would be doubly awesome (but not a prerequisite) to find a couple who'd be up for a little babysitting while i work a night shift (he'd be asleep before I leave for work). I'm casual so my days are flexible but hoping to eventually work at least one night a week to keep up my skills 😊

Rent is $1000 per calender month, plus bills. Bond is $450. Unlimited wifi is $15 p/person month. There is on street parking available with a permit for $90/year.

If this sounds like a home you'd enjoy living in we'd love to hear from you. The room is available from the 4th July 2017.

Flatmates

This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.