Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Barlow Rise, Bundoora, Melbourne

Private room with shared bathroom

Share house

Share house

2 Bedrooms

2 Beds

2 Bathrooms

2 Baths

1 Flatmates

1 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
FurnishingFlexible with furnishings
AvailableNow
Length of StayMinimum 1 year
GenderFemales

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$210
Bond4 weeks rent
BillsIncluded in rent
InternetUnlimited included in rent
ParkingOff street parking

Features

All female flat
LGBT+ friendly
Pets considered
Students accepted

***Lease is due for renewal in January, please enquire about move-in date***

Hello, my name is Beth, I am a 26-year-old Canadian girl, but I have lived in Melbourne for 10 years. I'm a few weeks from finishing my undergraduate degree, and will be doing an Honours year next year, followed by a PhD. I’m extremely focussed on full-time university studies, and also work two shifts a week in childcare. I have a kitten named Jack (I may consider a housemate with other animals, but they would have to be cat-friendly and approved by the Real Estate Agent). I’m looking for a fellow career-minded person to share my quiet, respectful home with. This room definitely does not suit somebody looking for a busy, and super social party household.

I am looking for a 25+ years-old, female (*LGBTQ+ friendly) to fill the following room in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom townhouse in a residential neighbourhood with great access to public transportation:

1-year lease term with $210 rent per week INCLUDING bills: unlimited internet, gas, water, electricity.

About You (Ideal Housemate):

Ideally you are either:
a) a professional with current full-time or part-time employment
or
b) Studying an Honours or post-graduate degree, with proof of current employment.
or
c) A mature-aged undergraduate student, with proof of current employment.

***As you will have to be approved by the Real Estate Agent, if you are unemployed and/or do not intend to seek employment while you study, please do not apply***

The Room:

Large, sunny bedroom with huge windows and sliding glass doors leading onto private balcony. Big Built-in Wardrobes with a full-length mirror inside.
The room fits: Queen sized bed, chest of drawers, 2-seater couch, bedside table, lamp. If you want the room furnished, this might be a possibility, so please enquire if you’re interested. You are also welcome to provide your own furniture.
-2 private off-street parking spots, one is under a carport. I don’t have a car, so it’s all yours!

Downstairs:
-Living and dining room with TV, couches, 6-seat dining table and chairs, and side tables. Gas Heating. The living room has floor to ceiling windows and sliding doors opening to backyard.
-Fully stocked galley kitchen with gas stovetop, oven, separate grill, and TONNES of cupboard and storage space. Includes microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge, 8-piece dinner set, pots and pans, and every imaginable cooking utensil.
-Separate Library/Study with bookshelves, study desk with chair, 2 super comfy armchairs, and equipped with liquor cabinet for those rainy weekends where only a glass of wine and a good book will do.
-1 Powder Room with second toilet and sink.
-Outside courtyard with fully fenced back yard, furnished with wicker couch, chairs, and coffee table, sun-shade, and a laundry line. Back yard also has rear gate to private parking.

Upstairs:
-2 Bedrooms
-1 large bathroom with toilet, shower over bath, large mirror and sink with 2 large cupboards, and 4 drawers (you’ll get one cupboard and two drawers to yourself).
-European Laundry with washing machine, sink, storage cabinet and shelves.

5 minute walk to Polaris shopping centre, includes:
-Groceries: Woolworths grocery store, Butcher shop, Asian Grocery
-Restaurants and Takeaway: Café’s, Thai, Kebabs, Subway, Pizza Hut, Sushi, Fish & Chips, Dumplings, Chinese, Pho, Charcoal Chicken, Smoothie/Milkshake Shop.
-Other: Liquor store (Dan Murphy's), Chemist Warehouse pharmacy, News Agent, Dollar Store, and other shops.

Bundoora park is 5 minutes walking distance across the street, walking paths, kangaroos, forests, duck ponds, and Prospect Hill lookout (which has amazing views of the city and sunsets!), and more parks within ten minutes walking distance. Bundoora farm lines one park, so you can stroll past ponies, horses, llamas, and other gorgeous creatures. I’m big on walks and picnicking, so you’re welcome to join me on my adventures :-)

Less than 5 minutes walking from Plenty Road 86 Tram.
15 minutes walking to La Trobe Bundoora Campus (or walk 5 minutes to shopping centre and 2 minute bus or tram directly to campus); 15 minutes by tram to RMIT; 50 minutes to Melbourne University and City by bus or Tram.
(Extended public transport info at the end of the page).

About Me:

I love cooking, and am also happy to team up by cooking shared meals a couple days a week if that’s your thing. My specialties are various stir-fry dishes, giant breakfasts, homemade pasta sauces, and epic tapas platters! I eat mostly vegetarian, fresh food, and I cook most things from scratch. I am totally fine with meat-eaters, and promise I won't lecture you :-)

Between study and work I have a 40+ hour work week minimum, so I like a fairly quiet, relaxed place to retreat home to. Most weeks I also visit my parents’ place for one or two nights, so you'll have plenty of space and time to yourself.

I am a non-smoker and rarely drink. I spend most weekday evenings at home studying or relaxing after work or uni, so my best-case scenario is a housemate who is keen to hang out a couple nights a week, and share dinner and/or a cuppa over a Netflix binge (and/or card games and N64 if you’re old-school like me!). I respect the need for privacy to study and relax, but I definitely don’t want to feel like I’m living with a ghost who haunts the upstairs bedroom exclusively, so hopefully there’s somebody out there who this resonates with.

About the Household:

This house is kept to a VERY high standard of cleanliness—somebody who is tidy and willing to split the housekeeping duties 50/50 is essential. In terms of the chores, the current arrangement is:

-Kitchen must be clean by the end of every day. Food never left out, and garbage emptied at least twice per week.
-Every week one housemate cleans both bathrooms and mops the kitchen floor, and the other housemate dusts and vacuums the rest of the house.
-Gardening of the back yard is shared (low-maintenance courtyard, requires about 1 hour of weeding per person per month depending on weather).
-General areas should be kept tidy on a daily basis, personal items kept out of public space as much as possible.

I do have the sort of attitude where, if the house is generally clean, and housework is split evenly most of the time, I am happy to try to cover for you when you're stressed with exams or work, or if you're having an especially awful day. Hopefully I can find somebody else who has a similar sort of mindset in regards to sharing the housekeeping :-)

We all have our pet peeves, so I’ll just be totally honest here! These are the things that would most irritate me in a housemate (You can expect the same respect from me, though!):

- Dirty toilet and/or shower, and dirty dishes and food being left around the house.
- Somebody who basically moves their partner into the house. I don’t mind them staying up to a max of 3 days a week—I spend a couple nights a week at my parents’ place, so there should be ample opportunity to have privacy with your partner.
-Friends coming in and out every day (especially late at night on week days)

Public Transport:

Public Transportation walking distance:
5 minutes from 86 tram line (50 minutes into city),
2 minutes from 566 Northlands Shopping Centre Bus stop,
5 minutes from La Trobe Glider bus stop (this bus runs every 20 minutes until 2 a.m., and loops from campus, to the shops/restaurants),

**Reservoir Train Station Shuttle Bus runs from La Trobe University
**Macleod, Clifton Hill, Heidelberg, and Melbourne Central Train Stations are easily accessible via busses from La Trobe University.

2 minutes by Tram or Bus to La Trobe University
5-10 minutes by Tram to K Mart, Aldi, Coles, Nandos, and gym.
15 minutes to RMIT
15 minutes to Preston by Tram (Cafés, bars, and restaurants)
25 minutes to Northcote by Tram (Thrift stores, Food Trucks, etc.)
50 minutes into city by Tram (24-hour public transport to/from city).

Hopefully somebody out there thinks this would suit them well!


Contact Beth
Online Yesterday
Free to Message

Nearest Bus Stops

Grange Bvd/Plenty Rd 4 min walk
Bundoora MFB/Plenty Rd 5 min walk
Plenty Rd/Greenwood Dr 5 min walk
Greenwood Dr/Plenty Rd 5 min walk
Moreton Cres/Greenwood Dr 6 min walk
Sanctuary Dr/Main Dr 7 min walk
Grange Bvd/Main Dr 7 min walk
Copernicus Cres/Plenty Rd 8 min walk
Botanic Ct/Greenwood Dr 8 min walk
Athol Ave/Greenwood Dr 10 min walk
Bundoora Park/Plenty Rd 11 min walk
Officeworks/Plenty Rd 12 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Train Stations

Metropolitan Fire Brigade/Plenty Rd #62 5 min walk
Greenwood Dr/Plenty Rd #63 6 min walk
Bundoora Park/Plenty Rd #61 9 min walk
Mount Cooper Dr/Plenty Rd #64 15 min walk
La Trobe University/Plenty Rd #60 17 min walk

Nearest Cafés and Restaurants

Pizza Hut Bundoora6 min walk
Mr. Lee Chinese Restaurant6 min walk
Pho 9997 min walk
Kebab Centre7 min walk
Thai Khon Kaen7 min walk
Polaris Dumpling Kitchen7 min walk
Sensations Thai7 min walk
Giorgio's Charcoal Chicken7 min walk
Vorea7 min walk
Gloria Jeans8 min walk
Subway® Restaurant8 min walk
Jun's Kitchen11 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Supermarkets

Good & More Asian Grocery7 min walk
Woolworths Polaris (Bundoora)7 min walk
ALDI Bundoora23 min walk
Coles Supermarkets27 min walk
FoodWorks Kingsbury27 min walk
Daily Discount Variety27 min walk
Gugu Asian Grocery29 min walk
AKR Enterprises29 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Universities

La Trobe University, Melbourne19 min walk