Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Toowong, Brisbane.

Exmouth St, Toowong, Brisbane

Private room with shared bathroom

Share house

Share house

3 Bedrooms

3 Beds

2 Bathrooms

2 Baths

3 Flatmates

3 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
FurnishingFurnished
AvailableNow
Length of StayMinimum 4 weeks
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$250
Bond3 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetUnlimited included in rent
ParkingOff street parking

Features

Backpackers welcome
Welfare welcome
LGBT+ friendly
Pets considered
Students accepted

Key points:
Furnished room: double bed, mattress topper, cupboard, rug
Bathroom and toilet shared with one other person
Weekly cleaning service at house
Wifi included
Large shared study in house
Large living and kitchen area
Architectural house design with wooden floors and big windows
Pool at back
Dryer
Pet friendly

The Housemates:
Jaie and Peter, share the 'master' room. Peter, 27, studies Environmental Science at uni, and Jaie, 24, studies Building Technology in the city, as well as teaching art classes in the evening near-by. (The artwork on the walls are constantly changing as a result!)
Axel is German, in his early thirties, and is a lecturer in economics at UQ, and lives in the other room. Xavier, the Dog, is a one year old Border Collie Kelpie Cross, and sleeps indoors and is very friendly and well behaved.

In More Detail:
We are renting our third bedroom, which is a furnished room, that comes with a double bed ( with a memory foam topper), and a wardrobe in the room. We are looking for a single person only, possibly with a pet, and are not renting to couples (sorry!) The house is very large, open-plan, and is constructed with high quality and non-toxic building materials, in a mid-century modern cross environmental architectural style. It comes with a pool at the back, and very large living areas, including a shared study space for all housemates.

The third room, which you will be renting, is at the back of the house, and has a large double sliding glass door on one wall and a sash window on another, which lets in plenty of light. The glass door looks directly onto the pool and offers a beautiful, but private view. Roller blinds are fixed to both openings. The floor in the room is exposed concrete, which has exceptional thermal properties. In Summer, the floor is cool, and keeps the temperature steady in the room. In Winter, it insulates the room, and eliminates any under-floor drafts, common to interwar houses built with wooden flooring in our area. There is also a rug that comes with this room, to soften the look of the exposed concrete flooring. The walls, wardrobe, and blinds are all white, giving you maximum potential for personal decorating. The room comes with some black-and-white Escher prints, but feel free to take them down, and put up your own! The bed is a subtle grey fabric frame.

The house in itself is large, and the common rooms are very spacious with super tall ceilings. There is a shared study space at the back of the house, situated between the second and third room, which is also concrete floored like your room, with plenty of shelves to store books and work. At the centre of the room is a large oak-top table which we custom made just for this room and accommodates all four housemates. The three housemates you will be moving in with, are all studying various subjects, and so if you are also a student, or appreciate a good place to study, then know that your housemates do too, and so like to maintain a pleasant space to productively study.

At the front of the house, there is our living area, which is an open plan space for our kitchen, living area and dining table. We have a comfortable large U-shape couch which we like hanging out on and relaxing on. The area is all wooden floors, and has a high ceiling, with clerestory louvre windows encompassing the top. At the front of this space, looking over the front garden to the street, are double-storey-height bi-fold glass doors, that step out onto a brand new ironbark deck, perfect for our BBQ and a great place to relax in the Winter Sun. Together, these doors and the louvre windows lining the upper walls let plenty of light flood this huge living area.

Our kitchen is large and very generous with lots of pantry space and cupboards, and one meter deep stainless steel counters. The kitchen is fully kitted out with all the usual pots, pans, and crockery - all of high quality stainless steel, with no cheap chipping Teflons etc to worry about. You will also have your own small bar fridge to yourself and a very large shelf in your pantry. We tend to share salt, pepper, and spices.

In the laundry we have a large washing machine, a dryer, and outside there is a shaded washing line. We don't have a washing schedule as such, but we haven't had any problems yet, with only four people in total using the two machines, there never seems to be a queue.

There are two bathrooms, both with toilets, and one with a bath, the other a shower. As there are only three rooms in the house, (four housemates in total including you), this is a very comfortable ratio. The bathrooms have modern fixtures, have wooden floors, where the bath is recessed into the floor for a contemporary feel, while the shower has a two-person stainless steel base and 3 glass walls. Both bathrooms have large sliding glass doors that look onto a side garden wall, which is fully protected from view of neighbours for privacy, though if you desire, there are roll down blinds - we never bother ourselves though!

The house was constructed with minimal harmful chemicals; with paints, and resins all eco-friendly and non-toxic. We like to continue maintaining the house in this theme, and use non-toxic chemicals to clean as well, such as vinegar and lemon to wash the floor, bathrooms, and windows. So if you are also conscious about the chemicals you choose to live with, then rest assured that we are too.

We have a small Border Collie Kelpie Cross, who is playful, but well behaved. He doesn't jump up on beds or couches, and we keep the house clean after him (regularly vacuum and mop). He's a joy to live with, and previous tenants have often let him sleep on the floor with them at night, which maybe you'd like too. He lives on his own but has doggy friends over every now and then. He would love for another dog to move in with him, as long as they aren't too big, settled, and behave well - The property would struggle to support a large, or boisterous, dog, but a smaller, quiet dog is fine. We have to be careful not to have dogs that bark or yap a lot though, as this would upset the neighbours. Our dog stays inside mostly with us, and we take him out twice a day - the size of the yard is not big enough alone to satisfy his exercise requirements, and so would be the case if you had a dog too. A dog that is happy chilling inside or sleeping in the sun on the deck is probably most suited.

The house is professionally cleaned once a week for a couple hours, which is NOT an extra cost to the rent, where at a minimum, the floors and bathrooms are cleaned. This helps take the burden off individual housemates for picking up the slack and doing more than their fair share of cleaning the standard accumulated mess. However, we do all take cleaning up after ourselves seriously, and always leave the kitchen and bathrooms clean after we use them for the enjoyment of other housemates.
The weekly cleaning, and Wifi, are all included in the rent. Bills, however, are not included, and are divided fairly as they come in. This is because seasonally, bills vary, and it's hard to predict their cost. Our bills are for electricity, water, and occasionally the cost of pool chemicals.

Our current tenant in this room is studying at UQ and is here for a year from overseas, and leaves this August, which is why this room is soon available. The location suits her well, as she can take the bus easily to the Uni, and as the room is furnished, she doesn't have to worry about furniture. In her case, the lease with us, has been a year, but we will consider leases for less than this, as we understand that a furnished room would appeal more to those seeking shorter stays. Our current tenant prefers living in Toowong, here with us, as she gets much more value for money, than for the same rental price for something a little closer in St Lucia or Taringa, for example. As mentioned above, Jeremy, a housemate also goes to UQ, and he easily cycles in everyday. Jaie studies in the city, and cycles there in less than 18 minutes everyday, so it’s really still very close for those studying in St Lucia or the city.

For those inclined to drive, we are close to everywhere, including the city, Indooroopilly Shopping Centre, and Toowong Shopping Centre. If you take the bus, we have several stops within walking distance to our house. Flannery’s Taringa is a 15 minute walk away, and there are two awesome local independent coffee shops - one at the end of our street and another a few streets away; 10 min walk max. The housemates like to stroll down to these cafes some mornings.

On Sundays, Jaie and Peter have made it a habit to drive to the Northey St Organic Markets - you’re welcome to come with us. They also are trying their hand at growing some of their own produce in the front garden using permaculture strategies, such as self-made compost, and fertiliser from a resident, but hidden worm-farm. Green thumbs are encouraged! Maybe there’s something you’d like to grow in the vegie garden too?

We are in a hidden, tucked-away pocket of Toowong, and enjoy the sounds of birds in the morning, as we are in a tree-dense area, and are close to the back of the Mt Cootha forest. We often take our dog for runs in the bush near-by and find the streets around here very quiet and safe.

We are looking for a clean, and respectful person, who might not mind having the odd dinner, or drink with us. Our current tenant is female which helps balance the other two guys and girl in the house evenly, but it more comes down to the person, than the gender. We hope to find someone who is easygoing, but not lazy with cleaning after themselves.

This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.