Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Preston, Melbourne.

Austin Street, Preston, Melbourne

Private room with shared bathroom

Share house

Share house

3 Bedrooms

3 Beds

1 Bathrooms

1 Baths

3 Flatmates

3 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
FurnishingUnfurnished
AvailableNow
Length of StayMinimum 1 year
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$125
Bond4 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingOff street parking

Features

LGBT+ friendly
Students accepted

If I had to pick a word to describe this house it would be cosy! We have Ducted heating for cold winter evenings, air con in the lounge for those extra hot summer days, a huge backyard with lots of little veggie patches on the go, chickens (who try to ruin our veggies constantly) and a very rude cat named Ella Fitzgerald (you will have to work hard to make her your friend, sorry!) it isn't a large house but it is large enough for 3 people to enjoy their own space, or to hang out together and not be on top of one another all the time.

The house is fully furnished, except for your room, although there could be wiggle room if you had particular items you needed to bring into the house.

The room on offer is a master bedroom, it is large enough for a king size bed with room to spare for a little desk and room to walk around. It also has big built in double wardrobes with heaps of room for storage/hanging clothes.

We are looking for someone who is independent and experienced in share houses. Uni students (working part time) are welcome but if you work full time that is also great!

I won't make a list of qualities that our ideal housemate must possess but suffice to say we are looking for someone who is sociable and relaxed. Someone who can maintain a good balance between self sufficiency and contributing to the vibe/atmosphere of the house.

A note on public transport options;
The 251 bus to Collins street stops right around the corner from us(2min walk) and we are a short walk(5min) from Bell street which has a bus(not sure on the number) to take you to Preston station or you can walk about 10 mins to the 86 tram on high street.

P.S. We don't own a T.V. We do watch TV shows together on our laptops occasionally but the lounge room has officially been TV free for some time now and we aren't interested in bringing one into that space any time soon.

More about the Flatmates

You will be moving in with Beth and Mike!

Mike is in his early 30's and is studying Nursing right now. Its exam time and he should really be studying but instead he is procrastinating and writing this advertisement. Mike is a musician and can occasionally be heard around the house playing his guitar (and singing terribly) Mike works part time in disability support, likes to cook, tells dad jokes and listens to too much 774 in the mornings. Beth hates 774. She is not afraid to tell Mike so.

Beth is an early 30's soon to be psychologist, working on her masters and slowly going mad while she makes our gardens beautiful and builds impenetrable fortresses to stop said gardens being destroyed by the chickens. Beth works part time as a counselor and is also a musician who can be heard about the house playing the flue or fiddle at times.

We have both lived in this house for a couple years and have a close friendship. We are hoping to find someone who wants to be part of a home and not just a house share, someone who shares our values and has good communication skills. We are very left leaning, socially conscious types and will be looking for a similar personality type to join the house.

If you think you would fit in here please get in touch. Best to send a message with a little bit of info about yourself, what you are doing with your life, how long you think you would like to stay or anything else you feel is relevant. We can make plans to meet up for a chat after that :)

This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.