Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Carlton, Melbourne.

Barkly Street, Carlton, Melbourne

Private room with shared bathroom

Share house

Share house

3 Bedrooms

3 Beds

1 Bathrooms

1 Baths

2 Flatmates

2 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
FurnishingFlexible with furnishings
Length of StayMinimum 6 months
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$206
Bond4 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingNo parking


Smokers accepted
LGBT+ friendly

One room available in this lovely Carlton home.

It's tucked in behind Carlton Gardens, and is just five minutes' walk to Brunswick St or Lygon St either way. We've loved the location year-round - you can stroll across to the gardens and spend hours there in summer. It's cosy in winter too - there are great bars around and you head to the Nova (and not have to worry about parking there!) It's a really convenient location as well - there are two supermarkets within 500m, and you can get to the tram stop within around 3 minutes.

The home itself is a beautifully updated single-level Victorian. It's a great combination of period charm and modern comfort. It has high ceilings and ornate cornices, as well as a fully updated kitchen with stainless steel appliances and a modern bathroom with a large shower and laundry facilities including a top-range washer and dryer. The kitchen and living area is in one open-plan space, and gets great natural light from the large windows that line the side of the house. Outside is a large and leafy courtyard that we share with our neighbours, who are lovely folks and have a similar household to us. We often have courtyard drinks happening during summer evenings and it's also large enough that we both have our own areas with outdoor furniture.

The room sits at the rear of the home and has a door out to the courtyard so you can let the breeze in or sit on the sunny steps and read. My housemate currently has it set up to fit a double bed, shelf, and a few clothing racks. She's moving into a furnished place and no longer has need for these items, so they are available if you'd like to purchase them (cheaply!) but if you have your own items they can be removed.

Overall, it's a really comfortable house with plenty of charm, and in what we think is one of the best locations you could have on the northside.

More about the Flatmates

I’m Gab (25), originally from Perth but have been in Melbourne for just over 2 years now. I’m studying communications and art history while working part time in communications. I'm pretty laid back and easy going, I like home to be a relaxed and easy place to be, so I'm looking for someone who shares that view. It would be nice to find someone who wouldn't mind sharing a meal or a drink from time to time.

This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.