Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Fitzroy North, Melbourne.

Taylor Street, Fitzroy North, Melbourne

Private room with shared bathroom

Share house

Share house

4 Bedrooms

4 Beds

2 Bathrooms

2 Baths

4 Flatmates

4 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
Length of Stay4 weeks to 3 months
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$220
Bond2 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingOn street parking


Students accepted
Pets considered
LGBT+ friendly
Backpackers welcome

One of our roommates is going on a 3 month sojourn, leaving her ginormous room available for a suitable applicant!

We have a welcoming, communal, vegie-gardening, queer-friendly, sustainability-minded and basically awesome household prone to baking extravaganzas.

The house is located in a delightfully leafy pocket of North Fitzroy, super close to the 96 tram - you can ride to the city within half an hour! It’s an easy walk or ride to Merri creek, CERES, St George’s Road and 11 tram, Gelobar, Moroccan Deli-cacy… and it’s literally a 1 minute walk to Pope Joan through the back gate.

There’s a fantastic set up of solid garden beds out back and a pretty front garden with established citrus trees.

The house is huge, with classic Italianate design inside and out, including *that* amazing feature wall. There’s a reason we call it our Vinyl Palace: there’s a spectacular array of linoleum floors throughout.

About the room

The room is absolutely enormous - about 4 x 5 metres. It is fully furnished but it's so big that if you have some things you need to bring, you can almost certainly fit them. And there are other storage options out the back. I will also make sure to move some of my contents to the shed so that you will have some nice empty storage spaces to fill. I pay $880 per month - if your dates don't quite match I'm happy to negotiate something with you. For a couple we would charge $1000 per month. If price is an issue, get in touch and let's talk turkey! You could also potentially have access to my car and bike - to be negotiated.

More about the Flatmates

Who are the housemates?

Housemate Green-Thumb: I’m a 33-year-old queer woman with more than ten years' share house experience. I like sharing meals and household chores. My hobbies include knitting, reading and bike touring.

Carlotta: I am a 28 year old nurse from the States. As a roommate I really enjoy sharing meals, meal ideas, and cooking! Hobbies: Cooking, Dancing (on weekends with friends), singing (casually/ in the kitchen), photography, and hiking when possible!

Goldie: I'm a clinical psychologist who recently arrived in Melbourne. I have several years experience from living in shared houses and really enjoy the companionship and shared fun that can come from that lifestyle.

Who are you?
• In your 30s (or otherwise grown up)?
• Interested in sharing food and cooking and gardening, socialising and working on household projects together?
• Experienced in share-housing, good at communicating openly and respectfully and working stuff out with people?
• Queer or queer-friendly, trans* friendly, sex positive, into gender equality, social justice and all those good things?
• Into living sustainably (e.g. composting, conscious consumption etc)?
• Mostly vegetarian (or willing to eat most veg at home)?
• A non-smoker?
Yeah? Then you might fit right in at the Vinyl Palace ☺

What Now?
If you’re interested, send me a private message – tell us about yourself and what you’re looking for in a household. If it looks like a match we’ll arrange to have you over for a cuppa.

This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.

Nearest Cafés and Restaurants

Pope JoanClose by
Curly Joes Express3 min walk
Curly Joe's - North Fitzroy3 min walk
Curly Joe's3 min walk
7-Eleven Brunswick3 min walk
Singh's Indian Take Away Food7 min walk
Carmelo's Wood Fired Pizza9 min walk
Hack N Slash9 min walk
Elverson Distribution PTY Ltd.9 min walk
Carolina9 min walk
Wendys Fish & Chip Shop9 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Train Stations

Glenlyon Rd/Nicholson St #24 Close by
Miller St/Nicholson St #23 3 min walk
Albert St/Nicholson St #25 8 min walk
Holden St/Nicholson St #22 8 min walk
Brunswick Rd/Nicholson St #22 9 min walk
Victoria St/Nicholson St #26 11 min walk
Holden St/St Georges Rd #24 13 min walk
Blyth St/Nicholson St #27 13 min walk
Park St/St Georges Rd #23 14 min walk
Scotchmer St/Nicholson St #21 15 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Bus Stops

Nicholson St/Miller St 3 min walk
White St/Miller St 3 min walk
Nicholson St/Glenlyon Rd 3 min walk
Rae St/Miller St 3 min walk
John St/Glenlyon Rd 6 min walk
144 Miller St 8 min walk
139 Miller St 8 min walk
Nicholson St/Holden St 8 min walk
Ethel St/Glenlyon Rd 8 min walk
Clarke St/Glenlyon Rd 9 min walk
Porter St/Holden St 10 min walk
Truscott St/Brunswick Rd 10 min walk
+ Show more

Nearest Supermarkets

TT Mart8 min walk
Spices Herbs & Nuts (Arora Spices)9 min walk
FoodWorks Carlton North11 min walk
Maria's Coffee House and Deli12 min walk
Smith & Maloney Green Grocer14 min walk
Brunswick East IGA X-press16 min walk
IGA Brunswick16 min walk
Senserrick Green Grocer16 min walk
Piedimonte's Supermarket & Liquor, North Fitzroy17 min walk
CERES Community Environment Park17 min walk
Wild Things Food17 min walk
CERES Organic Grocery17 min walk
+ Show more