Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Fitzroy, Melbourne.

Smith Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne

Private room with shared bathroom



2 Bedrooms

2 Beds

2 Bathrooms

2 Baths

2 Flatmates

2 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
FurnishingFlexible with furnishings
Length of StayFlexible
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$275
Bond4 weeks rent
BillsSome included in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingOff street parking

Cliff Notes:
2BR (w/BIR)/1.5Ba walk-up on Smith Street. Rooftop Balcony, BBQ, Washing Machine, Dishwasher, Gas Stove, Heat, Fridge, GARAGE, Tomato Plants, Awesomeness. Male, Late 20's, Business Professional, Music, Sport, Active, Good Food.

My long time housemate is making a terrible life decision in moving to Sydney. Room should be available the 7th of August. I myself am looking to move in with my partner in due course so ideally we would be looking for someone comfortable with taking over the lease (currently on a month to month basis).

More about the Flatmates

The Flat:
The Flat is located on Smith Street in Fitzroy above a commercial business (a furniture store) that has standard operating hours. Access to the Flat is via a walk-up on Smith Street or via a back door and garage on Little Smith. Once inside, there are two bedrooms, a full bathroom (shower and tub), and a laundry room on the first floor. The second floor is an open floor plan which is approximately 10m x 10m containing a kitchen (with a breakfast bar), eating area, lounge area, as well as a half bathroom. A sliding glass door takes you onto a sizeable balcony (comfortably entertains 10 people) with BBQ and outdoor dining set overlooking Smith Street and the rooftops of Collingwood and Fitzroy with a great view of the city skyline. We've got some tomato plants, sunflowers, basil, capsicum, chillies, and mint that would desperately welcome a housemate with a green thumb!

The kitchen has a gas range, oven, dishwasher, refrigerator, double basin sink, and more cabinetry than you could shake a stick at. Each of the bedrooms have individual heaters for the winter months, and there are two additional heaters upstairs in the common area.

The Neighbourhood:
Located at Smith and Gertrude, you are effectively at the heart and soul of all the Inner North has to offer. Whether you're looking for date night dinners on Gertrude Street, bar hopping on Smith, or simply avoiding mugging on the backstreets of Collingwood; this place has you covered. A brand new Coles has opened up approximately 300 meters from our front door and the 86 Tram is a few paces away. Victoria Parade is about a seven minute walk where you can catch the 109 or some other tram I've never ridden. I reckon Fitzroy has the highest bicycle lane density in the city and our neighbour's dual-valve hand pump in the garage ensures we're never riding low on air.

I'm a late-twenties business professional working for a large firm in the CBD. I'm originally from Philadelphia [insert Fresh Prince of Bel-Air joke here] but transferred over to Melbourne a few years ago and now consider this my home. Work can keep me pretty busy at times with late nights every now and again (more common this time of year). I travel a fair bit so will generally be away at least one weekend a month and play Ultimate Frisbee two or three nights a week. If I'm not doing something active after work, I'm generally catching up with friends for a bite or cooking in at home. I'm not sure I even know how to turn on the Television in our house but I can give you some great Podcast recommendations and I'd let you use my sourdough starter. I keep a very clean house and will murder you in your sleep if you ever leave a pile of dirty dishes in the sink without a doctor's note. But seriously, it you can't act like an independent adult and pick up after yourself and wipe down the kitchen bench after you've made homemade pasta for the first time, please don't apply.

Independent adult in your late 20's / early 30's with work hours that complement mine. Would be great if we had similar interests such as an active and healthy lifestyle, sport, music (Triple J!) and gigs, travelling, etc. Most importantly though, I'm looking for someone who is clean and respectful of their housemates. BONUS Points: You own a record player and have a sizable vinyl collection. You give free surf lessons at your Torquay cottage throughout the summer. You're an interior decorator. You play in a band that I already love. You've got some secret BBQ Ribs/Wings/Pulled Pork recipes to share.

If you're interested, drop me a note with some information about yourself, your present living situation, why you're looking to move, and your prospective move in date. Include your phone number and a good time to give you a call.

Cheers and thanks for considering!

This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.