Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Mitchelton, Brisbane.

McConaghy Street, Mitchelton, Brisbane

1 bed flat for rent

One bedroom

One bedroom

1 Bedrooms

1 Beds

1 Bathrooms

1 Baths

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomEnsuite bathroom
FurnishingFlexible with furnishings
AvailableOct 31, 2016
Length of StayMinimum 6 months
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$200
BondOne weeks rent
BillsIncluded in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingOff street parking


My one bedroom granny flat ("The Elbow Room") in Mitchelton will be available from SATURDAY 8TH OCTOBER. I can show you through between Wednesday 26th and Sunday 30th September.

Own entrance and fully self-contained, the main room and fern house are both 3.25m x 6.25m and the bedroom is just over 3m square with a tiny ensuite. The flat looks out over the back yard. A yard is different to a garden and grass is different to lawn! It’s just a yard but has trees, a Hills Hoist, a garden shed and grass (which I pay my neighbour to mow for me), and a Native Stingless Bee hive :D

Fully equipped kitchenette with full-sized fridge and stove. Plumbing is there for a washing machine if you have one, but mine is available … unless you want to go down to the creek opposite (Kedron Brook) and bash your smalls on stones.

Quiet, dead-end street, easy 7 – 10 minutes walk to Mitchelton Station (20 mins to central on the train), local Blackwood Street shops and cafes, The Brook Hotel, Brookside, sports grounds and bus stops. Very little traffic, opposite a park which the pony club now rarely use but families come and play cricket or kick a footy around at the weekend or evening and/or walk their dogs, none of which creates enough noise to bother me. There is access to the bike path there also which goes for miles! Lots of street parking but no garage or car port. I do have a shade sail which covers two cars and keeps the hail off.

Although under the same roof, you can have as much privacy as you want. The connecting door is usually locked but if the mood takes and a chat with a glass of wine is on the agenda, then a secret knock can be arranged at no extra charge. The house itself is small and very modest. I’m gradually making improvements but it’s nothing 'flash'.

However, the flat is fairly new and light and bright. Can discuss what furnishings or appliances you need or want to bring. I have ‘things’ you can borrow. You would have to provide your own bed(s). The small bedroom 'just' takes a King but space around is a bit tight. You only sleep there, so my tenant's have been fine with that.

Me? I'm a friendly, very well-travelled, retired woman, open minded, agnostic (currently), creative (sometimes), gay-friendly and easy going. I have a 34 year old son and other family all living on the north side.

You? I'd prefer a quiet but sociable person with a sense of the ridiculous and humour, maybe somebody who is studying and/or into the arts, painting, music, reading, perhaps semi-retired. Maybe a gardener? There is plenty of scope in my back yard if you want to ‘till the soil’ which isn’t too bad – even I’VE grown corn, potatoes, tomatoes and cabbages (the moths ate those). Possibly best over 30 years old but I have no strong preferences about age, race, religion, gender or interests. Clean and tidy habits obviously - social drinker is fine. Non-smoker ideal. Sorry, no pets as I have only a partial fence and a territorial cat. A drugged out, young, party-throwing rowdy person with a million friends who visit, would not be a good fit. A little bit negotiable but $200 including services (currently) but with services going through the roof, there could be a tiny rise come the end of the year.

PS Photos are not current so some furniture has changed. The kitchen is as is, plus the fern house remains the same, and obviously the ensuite. Also a new 3-seater lounge is now at the end of the room opposite the kitchen. The photos are more to give you an idea of size than anything else :D

This listing is no longer available so you cannot make contact.