Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Newton Street, Alexandria, Sydney

Private room with shared bathroom



2 Bedrooms

2 Beds

1 Bathrooms

1 Baths

1 Flatmates

1 Flatmates

Room details

Room TypePrivate room
BathroomShared bathroom
AvailableNov 16, 2016
Length of StayMinimum 6 months
GenderAnyone welcome

Charges for the room

Weekly rent$310
Bond4 weeks rent
BillsNot included in rent
InternetAvailable but not included in rent
ParkingOff street parking


Students accepted
LGBT+ friendly

A short walk from Erskineville station (fast into the CBD). Sits in a leafy and green area. Small flat, small bathroom, but large bedrooms with large mirrored built-in wardrobes. The heart of Newtown is a short stroll away, with all the pubs and cafes you can think of, along the way. The flat is comfortable and cosy, there's floorboards throughout, which is a breeze to keep clean. There's also a front-loader laundry machine hidden inside the cupboard on the left of the fridge, in the kitchen. The bedroom pictured is the one available, and corresponds to the BEDROOM 1 on the floor plan, this bedroom will be unfurnished (apart from the built-in wardrobe of course, not visible on the picture). Me and my current housemate agreed to keep our bikes inside (kitchen area) but I'm happy to revert back to what I used to do, which is locking it outside the entrance door.
The complex is made of many apartments but most neighbours are really quite and respectful. Lots of bikes and cats around! Main downside is that it can be a bit dark at times, especially in Bedroom 1. But that can actually be a good thing in summer, so that the place stays fresh!

The picture used for the bedroom is an old one, the window has now a fully covering roller blind that blocks all lights at night.

There is a car space available, which I do not personally use. The quoted price reflects the demand in the area, the large double-size bedroom and the available car space.

The lease will need to be renewed and signed under both our names. If you message me I can give you the link to the application if you need more info about what it involves. I wish to sign for not more than 6 months, the lease than becomes on a month-to-month basis after that. Whether I (or we) actually stay longer than 6 months remains a possibility, I just want to give myself the freedom, instead of signing for another full year, because I have already lived there for 2 years, both on a 1 year contract.

Additional bills are internet (Fibre to the building with an impressive 80Mbps for 60$/month) and electricity (about 100$ per month on average). Water, strata and council rates are all taken cared of by the landlord, and there is no gas (unfortunately). So that's all.

PS: if you're a girl you might not like the few insects that we can have around (although that is easily minimised when the place is well kept) and the fact that the bathroom does not have a locking door, if that may be a deal-breaker for you. So far we never had an accident, the place is small enough to know whether the missing person is in the bathroom or not :)

More about the Flatmates

I am a 27 year old, studying engineering/maths and working in hospitality, soon to embark on a new career, but will most likely work through the summer in cafes and bars. I’m not a party hard, I like a cosy and homy environment in which to relax and wind down, but I am a very sociable person, who loves good company and good chats. I am quite meticulous (as in clean and organised), and while I have a preference for others to be so, I am not scrupulous about it.

Contact Xavier
Online Today
Verified:AustraliaMore info
Free to Message