Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Mermaid Beach Housemates & Roommates

Viewing 1-12 of 352 results



Early bird

$225/week29 year old female

Hello, I moved to Gold Coast (from Hawaii) to begin my PhD at Griffith University- Gold Coast 2 years ago. I still have ~ 1 year left. I am looking for a place anywhere on the Gold Coast with 1 or 2 roommates max, with an off-street parking spot and my own bathroom with a tub. I’m really looking for a place that I can call “home” even if it isn’t mine. Therefore, I am not looking for a place that has a lot of rules. I would also expect that I am able to use and enjoy living areas. I am looking to pay ~$225 a week with bills included, but would be flexible if the place fits all the requirements. I am looking for a quiet place to live. I would like to be able to come home and relax and be able to get additional things done for school, if needed. Right now I am mostly working from home. However, sometimes I am working in the lab/ out in the field for 20 hour days 6 days a week, and other times I’m at home working occasionally and catching up on sleep. I am more of a morning person than a night person (in bed around 8-9pm and up at 5am). I am not vegetarian or vegan, so I will be eating/cooking meat. I would also like to get a good night's rest most nights. I do enjoy wine nights and the occasional night/day out, but going out every night, and even every weekend, is not my thing anymore. I do prefer to have drinks or socialize at home and I do like to host nights with my friends occasionally. Since this is my home, I would like to have the freedom to have people over (with respect of notifying first). I don’t agree with drinking and driving so if friends need to, I would love to allow them to crash for the night. I also do not do drugs and prefer to not be surrounded by them; especially since I am on a student visa. I like to keep the shared living spaces tidy and clean, but I’m guilty of leaving the occasional pan or notebook out if I’m tired or in a rush. Since my work schedule is all over the place and I get rather tired, I usually choose a day once a month for a thorough disinfecting / cleaning. When I’m not working, I love watching tv shows and movies, but I also love to get outside. I love the ocean/beach and enjoy snorkeling, diving, hiking, photography, and traveling. I just bought a blow up kayak, and you can join if you’d like! Because I love being outside, any balconies/porches/yards are a plus! Ideally, I would like to test out the living situation for a few months, but if it is working out well, I can definitely stay longer. I am also unsure when I will be able to finish my PhD due to COVID-19, so I don’t want to sign long term contracts. I am looking for longer term rentals, but month to month would probably fit my situation the best. Especially since I will probably leave internationally the first chance I get.

Available 3 October 2020