Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Kingston, Mornington, North Hobart & Warrane Housemates & Roommates

Viewing 1-12 of 68 results


Free to message

$250/week66 year old male

I am seeking a Tasmanian base over Xmas and New Year from which to explore and contribute to Tassie culture. I will start in Hobart on 28Oct20. I 'live' worldwide. That means living with family, friends, sharing, by myself in homes, homesits, homestays, airbnb, hostels etc. I have a personal pension from which I volunteer my professional environmental and sustainability services and help people wherever I go. Mainly online as a digital nomad. I am very interested in cultural and community interconnectedness, enjoy the arts (music, art, community choir, online entertainment) and outdoor activities (hiking, cycling, orienteering, sailing, rafting) and maintain a healthy way of life (semi veg, non-smoker, pilates, yoga). I am easy to live with: worldly (about 80 countries), happy to share above, social and private, versatile, adaptable, self-reliant and positive. Indeed, I practice what I preach and integrate well! For example, over 9 months in 2019 in South America, I lived with locals and built biocapacity there on 20 projects. In 2017 it was the Himalayas and 2018 Western Europe. I am currently working across Oceania and in SEAsia. For example, the photo is while book packing for Books4PNGKids, a NFP that advances Pacific Island literacy by reusing pre-loved Aussie books. I have visited Tasmania twice (active holidays) and am now looking forward to a longer stay. My preferred approach is to: 1) negotiate a broad definition of sharing that I'm used to, e.g. sharing meals, cooking, chores, knowledge-broking, host/cohost, pet care, garden/home maint etc and 2) test the agreement before committing to a lengthy stay. For example, currently I am homesitting a friend's 3 bed Queenslander in CBD Brisbane over 8 months: caring for the home and maintaining its prolific garden.

Available 28 October 2020