Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Albion, Brisbane

Free to messagePrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact The Palace

About the property

Oversized bedroom (6m x 3m !!) w/ air conditioning, built in wardrobe and ceiling fan.

🌲 🌲 🌲 Welcome to the Palace 🌲 🌲 🌲 Because calling it a house doesn't do it justice.

There are things about shared houses that I love, I'm hoping you do too. New friends, easy chats, house-wine-night, impromptu brewery trips (Fonzie Abbot is 500m away...🤣🤣🤣), flexible and no-stress living with likeminded folks. Such is the power of community (that is, when it's done right).

Doing it right means a few things. Here is how we've tried to incorporate these things into our current favourite abode:

✅Enough room to swing several cats
-Each and every bedroom in our house is large enough to fit a small sofa/separate seating area (whether it be on a private balcony (of which there are 3), or in the room itself.
-Because the bedrooms are ridiculously generous, our WFH kids can enjoy their workspace (without working from bed), our busy worker bees have somewhere to stretch their wings (after a hard days honeying) or if you just need to bingewatch some terrible TV - nobody ever needs to know.
- Whilst I’m always the biggest cheerleader for warm and fuzzy sharehouse vibes, let’s not pretend that a big enough space and quite time to ourselves isn’t vitally important
- There are 5-6 separate living/dining/hanging-out spaces in our place (excluding bedrooms of course), my favourite is the outdoor lounge and firepit under the backyard tree with a book and an IPA
- The idea is that we can all find our own little quiet space, or be social butterflies as needed. Though being a social and friendly is encouraged, we all like some occasional chill-time, and nobody likes to feel like they are living in anyone's pockets.

✅Good bones - the Palace is a modern, very-fit-for-purpose 3 storey, deceptively large home. It's features include:
- Massive lounge room - Very perfect if you've just had a long day and need quiet space to unwind.
- Open plan kitchen, 6 burner stovetop, caesarstone benchtop. For the foodies among us!
- Outdoor 5 seater lounge and firepit in the garden, best place for lurking and drinking tea while avoiding uni assignments/other terribly boring responsibilities.
- Large private patio and additional shared balcony
- ceiling fans across all levels, fully ducted aircon, the house is also North-south oriented, no more sweating through horrid Brisbane summers at our place!

✅😎The right crew

- The aim is for queer friendly, drama-free and friendly professionals/students generally between 23 and 33 (with a little wiggle room on age for the right folk)
-The type of vibe being cultivated is about bonding over a genuine appreciation of good chats, outdoorsy stuff (think rock-climbing or hiking), cooking fancy stuff, binge-watching-HBO and drinking fancy beer :)
- It's an deliberately friendly and respectful space, with an openness to sharing a dinner, a fancy ale, a bike ride, or a park-frisbee session every once in a while.
-In terms of specifics, W (21M) is a vey clever-bean software developer with great manners and very good chat, T (23F) is our trades-apprentice unicorn-girl (she's funny and into design, can do makeup like a demon, and other fun things like that), J (28M) is our peaceful and impossible to offend landscaper/ longboarder/ snowboarder dude, and C (25NB) is a process and controls engineer (aka, super duper logical, but also an amazingly present and empathic person).
-Keeping things tidy is important to us, we're v reasonable and sane about it, but do firmly believe in the importance of not having to clean up someone else's mess 🧹🧹

✅Nice private space
- Oversized bedroom (6m x 3m !!) w/ air conditioning, built in wardrobe and ceiling fan.
- There is very decent sound proofing between upper and lower floors
-brand-new room darkening curtains
-There is a possibility for a furnished room (if this is what you need, be sure to include details when you send a message)

✅Always enough fridge space and bathrooms
- Our fridges are brank-spanking-new - all housies have at least 120L each of fridge space each, very great news as the fancy organic Albion markets is just around the corner.
- Our house has 4 modern bathrooms, including two with a bath. They're nice ones too!

✅Location, Location etc
- We're in Albion. If you don't know the area, it's nice. The place is close to pretty much everything. It's 5 minutes to The Valley / Bowen Hills / Hamilton, 10 minutes to The City, Nundah, Clayfield or Chermside. Lots of local coffee shops, Greek, Vietnamese food, great grocers and fancy dining.

✅A place to park the petrol-monster
Inner city parking can be notorious for parking issues. Luckily, our place is all good on that front. The Palace has some off street parking spots (we're currently working out how these will be allocated - when you come visit, let me know what your preference is). For onstreet parking, we don't have any problems parking within 600m of the house as there are some v reliable (and close-by) parking streets that I'll tell you about once we're friends 😂😂

✅Simple bills
- Internet, electric, gas, and water are shared and tally to $25 fixed price per week.
- Unlimited NBN internet

✅Fun house things to do:
- There's a cracking wood fire out back which makes for pretty tasty marshmallows and beers with friends.

✨✨✨ Hot tip: Donate a boardgame to our blossoming loungeroom games stash, and enjoy a $10 rent reduction for the first 4 weeks...add a plant to the (ever-growing) living room jungle and we will have no choice but to love you forever.

💬 The best way to organise a time to check the place our is to send a text message (quickest way to get a a reply), or message here on Flatmates.

Message The Palace to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$245 weekly rent$980 bond
Bills not included in rentInternet available, not included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 6 months stayAvailable now
Anyone except couples
Flexible with furnishings
Off-street parking

Features

Queen bed
Bed side table
Drawers
Wardrobe
Door lock
Air conditioner
Heater
Chair
Lamp

About the flatmates

Aiming for drama-free and friendly professionals and students between 21 and 33. We like to hike, rock-climb, chat, scuba, read widely, binge-watch-HBO and drink fancy beer :)

We are friendly and respectful of each other’s space- although we do like to share a dinner together every now and again.

If this sounds like you, drop us a line.

Loading...