Get started with a FREE listing

Get started

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Brisbane.

Highgate Hill, Brisbane

Early BirdPrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact Karen and Warren and Elena and Jay

About the property

A room is coming up in our communal long-standing sharehouse in Kurilpa, Highgate Hill! The bedroom is for one person only and we have a preference for women, queer men, trans and non-binary people, aged 25 and over, and with previous share house experience. The room is available July 1.
The house is a big, beautiful old Queenslander. It has lots of communal spaces, so you can always find a spot to yourself. It has a lot of old house character & is honestly in a bit of a state of disrepair. But the kitchen is new, which makes up for it. We have a rambling edible garden and 5 chickens.
This is a quiet home - we care about each other, check in & have chats. But we give each other lots of space to relax & book in if we want to have bigger chats or all get together. We have an agreement to practice covid safety, we can talk to you about the details.

MONEY
Rent, internet & bills is $375.35 per fortnight for each housemate.
Bond is $500.
We share most food through contributing $50 per week into the kitty. We try to source food that is whole/organic/local.
AREA & PUBLIC TRANSPORT
Living up to our suburb name, we’re located on a hill across a lovely big park. It is super close to the river and the neighbourhood is very walkable and friendly. We are a 2 minute walk to 198 and 192, 15 minute walk to the 199 bus/CityCat, 10 minute walk to 196, and a 10-15 minute cycle into the city.
SO YOU’RE KEEN
The form asks you:
- a bit about yourself
- why do you want to live here
- your thoughts/experience on share housing/communal living
- if you’re down with creating a queer/trans/sex-worker friendly house
You can also email us with any questions. If this is not accessible to you please let us know. If you need to use messenger please message Karen
Look forward to hearing from you.
Please feel free to share with anyone.
We are ready to take applications now. Then likely interview in early June. The room is available 1 July.

Message Karen and Warren and Elena and Jay to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$188 weekly rent$564 bond
Bills included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Flexible length of stayAvailable now
Anyone except couples
Flexible with furnishings
On-street parking

Features

Queen bed
Bed side table

About the flatmates

MEET THE HOUSEMATES
Individually we are
Karen, non-binary 46, likes walking, dancing, lift weights, eating/growing food, working from home and community projects.
Elena, she/her, 46, sex worker, relaxes in the kitchen, works full time, enjoys undirected conversation, jigsaws and making art.
Jay, she/her, 55, activist, organiser, procrastinator, sometime baker and tofu maker.
Elena and Jay are a couple.
Warren: 39yo non-binary they/them. Disabled ceramicist & bushfoodie. Into nature, mutual aid, foraging & will try to feed you their cooking.
Barbie: 11yo puppy. Glamourous, friendly and loves pats. She's an indoor dog, allowed on the furniture & is banished to 1 half of the house.
Combined, we make up a household of 4 reflective, funny, sweet, social, caring humans, and one dog. We love doing cool stuff like occasionally hosting community groups we are part of, house dinners, and garden bees.

Loading...