Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Canberra.

Macquarie Street, Barton, Canberra

Early BirdPrivate room with shared bathroom
$240/wk

Bills not inc.

3

Bedrooms

2

Bathrooms

3

Flatmates

Contact Michael

About the property

I'm looking to get two housemates into a new houseshare at a 3 bed-2 bath-2 car apartment right in the middle of Barton. I've only just settled in here but I couldn't be happier with this apartment, it's got a lot of selling points; it's close to the shops, to the lake, to the park, to the office, and it's huge! The current housemates have found their own places and are looking to move into their own places, which opens up two of the rooms for two new housemates looking to make the most of it! The dates aren't set-in-stone yet, but the current housemates are probably going to move out in December 2019 or January 2020, so this will be perfect for those coming into town for work or study.

I've got as many details as I can think of below, but If you love the look of the place feel free to throw me a message!

The apartment is fantastic for those looking for a short commute to work in Barton. It's walking-distance from Parliament House and a lot of major government departments (Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Attorney-General's Department, the Australian Government Solicitor, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Department of Human Services, Department of Finance, Department of the Environment the Australian Federal Police, the Australian National Audit Office), to some major corporate offices (IBM, PwC, Fujitsu, Fuji Xerox, Boeing, Engineering Australia), and to some of Canberra's best hotels which are really popular for after-work drinks and conferences (Hotel Realm, Hotel Kurrajong). It's also near a lot of major cultural and historical sites, so you'll be able to attend some of the best after-work events and lectures at the National Gallery of Australia, the National Press Club Gallery (which hosts the monthly Canberra Diplomatic Club) and the Australian Strategic Policy Institute.

It's super close to the Barton Grocer, so you can easily pick up anything in an emergency. It's also close (15 minutes walk) to the shopping districts in old Kingston, the Kingston Foreshore and Manuka. It's even closer to the lakefront Bowen Park and to Telopea Park. Driving southside couldn't be easier, and you're super close to the King's Bridge if you need to drive north (Canberra Airport and the Majura Park shops like Ikea, Costco, Woolworths, Aldi, and Bunnings are a really easy drive away). There's also a major bus interchange just down the road at the Barton Bus Station which can take you to the Airport, to the City, or down to Woden.

The apartment itself is a huge loft-style apartment (two floors). The top floor features the master bedroom with ensuite in a loft-style setup - I'm looking to use that one. Privacy's a bit of an issue with that room, as the walls are about waist-height. But If you're still interested in using that room instead I'm happy to discuss. The top floor also has a small study-nook which overlooks the living room, so it could be used for another seating area. The other two rooms are just downstairs and share the downstairs bathroom right nearby, so it's a quick walk from the bathroom to bedroom. They're right next to each other and are roughly the same size. It's also right next to the laundry room and the front door for those who like to roll out of bed and out-the-door pretty quickly.

There's a distinct lounge area which can easily fit a three-person L-shaped couch, a coffee table, and a massive TV. It's right next to a massive 4-door balcony that's North-facing, meaning the apartment gets some beautiful natural light during the day (great for hang-drying your washing as well!). There's a dining area that can easily fit a 8-person dining table, and it's connected to the kitchen by a breakfast bar. The kitchen itself is massive, with plenty of cupboard space to go around (we haven't filled it even with 3 people) and a huge pantry (check out the photo!). On the other side of the apartment each bedroom gets a window that looks out onto a beautiful garden-courtyard, below which sits an underground parking garage (it's a pretty impressive feat of engineering, and you can see some beautiful sunsets from it).

There's a good amount of visitor parking which is usually vacant, and there's plenty of street parking for after-hours, public holiday or weekend parking. I'll be using one of the permanent parking spots (and paying a bit more rent for it), but the other one is available.

The apartment will come with a decent amount of shared furniture - there's a TV, dryer, washing machine, fridge, a coffee table and some armchairs. I'll be looking at getting some more bits and pieces as time goes on, but If you've got some stuff you'd like to bring it would be more than welcome! There's also a storage unit in the basement that can fit some boxes and maybe some shelves - anything wider than a standard door frame is going to be a challenging fit.

To get an idea of the other living costs, internet is NBN and costs $70 a month. The last quarters' electricity bill was about $400 for the Winter period. I'd be happy to split the bill for a shared streaming service account (Netflix, Stan, Amazon Prime Video) If you're interested.

Rent is paid fortnightly, and 4-weeks' worth of rent is required for the bond moving in, which we'll pay to the real estate agent once things are firmed up. The rental agreement also has a pretty explicit 'no pets' clause.

Message Michael to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

$240 weekly rent$960 bond
Bills not included in rentInternet available, not included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 12 months stayAvailable 24 January 2020
Anyone except couples
Unfurnished
Off-street parking

About the flatmates

I'm Michael and I'm a public servant in my mid-20s. I'm pretty laidback and won't be very disruptive - when I'm at home I'll probably be in my room reading something or watching something or playing something. I do a fair bit of cooking, but usually in singular-massive meal prep batches. I like a good board game, and have a decent collection, which you're welcome to borrow. I think one of my current housemates has even gone for up to a week without noticing I'm home!

Loading...
  1. Home
  2. Rooms
  3. Barton, 2600
  4. Share Houses
  5. Macquarie Street P901415