Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Canberra.

Kingston, Canberra

Early BirdPrivate room with own bathroom
Contact Libby

About the property

~~The sitch~~
Looking for a woman or queer person of another gender in their 20s to early 30s to share a light-filled top-floor 2 bed 2 bath 2 car apartment in Kingston. Easy walk to shops, restaurants, bars and Jerra wetlands. Close to public transport into Barton, Russell, city, ANU. Available from late-January (flexible) to August 2022 with possibility to extend.

On Ngunnawal land
Queer-friendly
Environmentally conscious
Few apartment modifications needed for accessibility
Pets considered by real estate

~~The vibe~~
For the past 12 months the place has been a home - everyone has been welcome to have friends, family, romantic partners over whenever, and when people are over no one was expected to hide in their rooms. We’ve all pitched in to keep the place generally clean and tidy without being hectic about it. I’d love to keep this vibe going with a new housemate.

~~The room~~
-Nice and big, 3.4 x 3.0m
-Built-in floor-to-ceiling mirrored wardrobe that fits long dresses, has shelves up top and down the side
-One wall is a glass sliding door to the balcony with privacy curtain and light-block blind
-3 powerpoints
-Separated from other bedroom by two bathrooms (ie no shared walls; good sound insulation)
**No furniture provided** but I may be able to help sort out a mattress and bedding if needed

+ Own bathroom
Not ensuite but right next to bedroom
Also serves as guest bathroom
Few modifications would be needed if you have accessibility requirements

+ Basement car park space

~~The apartment~~
-Bright and airy top-floor apartment of the Abrazo building
-Ducted heating/air-conditioning
-Secure building with fob access into building and for basement and each floor
-Small gym on ground floor with treadmill, bikes, free weights
-Loads of storage in kitchen/living
-Small storage locker in basement
-Communal space has standard kitchen stuff, furniture, washer, dryer (on lend from old housemates, if you have furniture for the communal space we can sort something out)
-Loads of ~ p l a n t s ~ and always space for more
-Good sound insulation from neighbours
-Large balcony faces onto balconies of surrounding buildings, makes for good entertainment
-Neighbours are the friendly type who say hi in the lift
-Lots of cute dogs in the building
-Good real estate, inspections every 6 months or so

~~The location~~
-Half the street is Griffith and half the street is Kingston
-5 minute walk to bus stop with routes R2, R6, 830 to Barton, Parliamentary triangle, Russell offices, Civic, Turner, ANU
-10 minute walk to Fyshwick fresh food markets
-15 minute walk to old Kingston shops, the Kingston foreshore and Jerrabomberra wetlands
-25 minute walk to Manuka shops

~~The financials~~
-Rent is $290/week, paid fortnightly
-Bond is $1160, held by ACT revenue office
-Other bills are halved - your share would be about:
$35/month for unlimited NBN
$100-150/quarter electricity
$100-150/quarter gas

Property accepting of

LGBTI+

Message Libby to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$290 weekly rent$1160 bond
Bills not included in rentInternet available, not included in rent
Private room
Own bathroom
Minimum 6 months stayAvailable 21 January 2022
Anyone except couples
Flexible with furnishings
Off-street parking

Features

Wardrobe
Air conditioner
Heater
Balcony

About the flatmates

~~The housemate~~
I’m a woman in my mid-20s, working in advocacy at a health NGO. When I’m not working I’m either studying for my grad cert, volunteering with a community group, crocheting and watching tv (good stuff or trash), doing some other craft, playing Sims, op-shopping, baking (cue “sometimes maybe good, sometimes maybe shit” tik tok) or hanging out with friends. Good old basic bish kinda stuff.

My partner is over a few times a week and I’m over at theirs a few times a week so there is a balance of social time and house-is-yours time.

I’m also lowkey ~deathly allergic~ to cashews so would kindly ask that whatever they touch in the house is washed thoroughly. Other nuts are super chill. Flagging that now in case the only food you eat is cashews.

I’ve lived in sharehouses for the past 5 years and can provide references.

Loading...