Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in .

Lourah Street, Dodges Ferry, TAS

Early BirdPrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact Ryan

About the property

We live in a beach shack that is literally right on the beach, a 20 metre walk from the front door to the water - see the attached photos, one of which shows our backyard and position. Your room is east-facing, which means it only gets a glimpse of the beach (which is at the south side of the house) but you still get that gorgeous sound of gentle waves to lull you to sleep at night. There's nothing but greenery outside your window; we're well back from the street and have great privacy.

You will only have one housemate, Ryan, as Tania is away in QLD for the next three months. Rent is $175/wk. Bills are roughly $20/wk which covers power and unlimited NBN. We ask for two weeks rent up-front plus bond (also equivalent to two weeks rent) to lock in this room.

Your room has lovely french doors that bolt shut and include blinds for extra privacy. Size-wise it is narrow but long, and lined with windows that catch the morning sun. It's carpeted and includes a wardrobe, but is otherwise unfurnished. If required, we can absolutely add a small desk or set of drawers, but you'll have to BYO bed. We have space in a storeroom if you need to store stuff, and both the storeroom and Tania's room are currently unused, so we're happy to move things around so you can have a little extra space to read or study. Let us know what you need.

The house itself is definitely a shack: small, quirky (those 70s carpets!), but cosy and well-loved, and the smallness is not an issue given that you'll only be sharing with one other person - Ryan - who has his own little private wing of the house. You'll also be sharing with two friendly cats. Tania will be away in QLD from late February to early June.

In the shared living room, there's an enormous TV with Netflix, Amazon Prime and Disney+, along with a PS4 and Switch, and plenty of boardgames, books, and puzzles. The NBN fttp router is in your room, so you'll have lightning-fast internet with the option to choose between wireless or plug straight into the router for even more speed. The shower has great heat and pressure, and a removable head. We have two cats, though they're only ever out of their rooms one at a time. The dog in the photos is away with Tania.

There's tons of offstreet parking, and we're within a quick walk to the local IGA, Hill Street Grocer, fish and chip shop, post office, chemist, hairdresser, bakery, park and boat ramp. At nearby Carlton Beach there's a fabulous cafe for brunch along with a great surf beach, and closer in you'll find the Sirens coffee van, which has some of the most delicious coffee and treats you'll find in Tassie. A 35-minute drive will get you back into the city, and of course Sorrell and the airport are much closer still.

But honestly, it's the opportunity to live beachfront that makes this place truly special. How often do you get the chance to wake up every day by the sea?

Message Ryan to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$175 weekly rent$350 bond
Bills not included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
3 months stayAvailable now
Anyone except couples
Flexible with furnishings
Off-street parking

Features

Wardrobe
Door lock

About the flatmates

Hi! I'm Ryan, a freelance artist who also works at T2 and moved down from Sydney a year and a half ago. I usually share with Tania, a PhD student and freelance writer/illustrator. Tania has to head up to Queensland (with her dog) for a little over three months for a writing residency, so we're looking for someone to take her place for that time. In a massive stroke of luck considering the current rental shortage, we ended up in this amazing beach shack in Dodges Ferry, right on the water.

When Tania gets back in June there's the possibility of extending your stay here (it's three bedrooms, so all three of us can stay); however, this place is likely to be put on the market sometime soon after that. We have a subsequent rental lined up in Lutana through the same private landlord, and will be looking for a third housemate for that place too, so if we all feel good about it after this three-month period, you'll be very welcome to come with us to the next place.

It's a quiet, nerdy household that mostly revolves around reading, TV, beach walks, and the occasional board game day. We're seeking a housemate who fits in with that vibe, which doesn't mean you need to be nerdy or creative, but probably means you're likely in your thirties or thereabouts, and tend towards a quiet and laid-back life - the occasional board game day aside, this isn't a party house (it isn't big enough, for a starters). Hard rules: no kids, no heavy drugs, no pets (we only have permission for the ones we have). You must be okay with two friendly cats. In terms of tidiness, we're easygoing and will generally vacuum when the beach sand starts becoming obvious and keep things generally tidy and stink-free; we're hoping to live with the sort of person who is neither stinky nor completely obsessed with keeping things dust-free - this is a beach shack; it is quite old, collects sand, and "has character", so you need a degree of cheerful acceptance that despite all efforts, it will never reach a state of perfection.

We don't mind if you're on benefits, a student, or a traveller - as long as you can pay your rent and commit to three months - and this is a very LGBTQI-friendly space. If you're racist, sexist, or a Liberal voter you're not gonna have a great time. If, on the other hand, you're into swimming, surfing, kayaking or anything outdoorsy you're going to absolutely love it here; likewise if you just like curling up with a good book listening to the waves, allow me to introduce you to this little piece of heaven.

Loading...