Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Gold Coast.

Pohlman Street, Southport, Gold Coast

Early BirdPrivate room with shared bathroom
$160/wk

Inc. some bills

4

Bedrooms

1

Bathroom

1

Flatmate

Contact Marty

About the property

This property is very unique, an historic Art Deco house that began its life as a bakery (which is my bedroom)..... the front of the house (which is the main living quarters and lounge areas - for rent) were only recently a decommissioned medical practice, used for decades for medical purposes either as a general practice or for specialist surgeons… in that respect the property might not suit everyone’s style, you could see in the photographs in the bedroom available for rent there is a doctor’s hand basin and a work bench and drawers, and the decor painted skirting and doors are all still medical green!… There are two other bedrooms that also have handbasins but also have examination beds still fitted. The house also has an x-ray light box and almost boiling water out of the taps…
So, you would be living in a medical centre.!! ... Do not be deterred though and do not see the place as anything other than a beautiful old house, despite its former life in the medical field, it is now very much liveable, with loads of character, and through my artistic pursuits I have made sure the house has many art pieces both large and tiny to look at and enjoy. I figured kitsch was the best style of decor to offset the remnant medical vibe. I think the whole house is an art piece really.
Now -
Rental includes your own large lounge room with a 42” TV, a big sofa, coffee table and club chair. There is also
a study nook with 2 desks for your exclusive use.
Your bedroom is air-conditioned although the A/C unit is old and a bit noisy it does the job. It also has a very strong ceiling fan. Bedroom has plenty of storage space with cabinets, drawers, shelving and a wardrobe.
The house is very breezy with old French windows around every room so it’s easy to capture breeze during the warmer months.
You will have your own front entrance to the house, with parking spot at front steps (and wheelchair access!!) however parking at rear is also available if preferred.
The property immediately adjoins an Asian supermarket, a butcher, a Korean buffet barbecue restaurant, a coin laundromat, and a newly opened health/whole foods - all immediately outside your door. I do have a front loader 7kg washer and clothes line tho, laundromat is just a bonus.
The house is located about a three minute walk from the tram station at Nerang Street. The front master bedroom is closest to the road and the road intersection. Being adjacent to
supermarket and an informal taxi rank it can be noisy some nights. There are privacy Venetian blinds as well as an extra curtain for blacking out the room in case you would wish to sleep during the day. The location of the house is absolutely ideal and completely central. This rental is essentially a separate living quarters, I will have my own separate living area, small fridge, cooktop and obviously my bedroom at the rear with my own entrances. The only shared amenity is the bathroom and laundry, there is only a shower not a bath tub, but there is a separate toilet outside at the laundry. I am pretty keen to plumb an outdoor shower for me - so you’ll prolly have bathroom of your own!!
I like to keep the place relatively tidy and clean, in main living areas anyway. Dog hair accumulates like tumbleweeds which are easy to collect/vacuum. There is loads of space and in all likelihood we will not see or hear much of each other. Currently the room is completely unfurnished but I am prepared to furnish room for the right person with a queen size bed, some bedside tables and a lamp. I am open to connecting up Wi-Fi with the cost to be shared, as I really only use my phone at this point. The only shared expense will be the electricity bill, of which you will be expected to pay one third. The water bill I will pay myself in total. OR - Can just charge $180pw and include all bills if preferred!!...
All in all this is a very good value situation, living with someone who will stay out of your face, not be weird or creepy, communicate with you about anything relevant as it arises, and is also kind and genuine, able to hopefully develop a friendship… You never know?!. If you have a boyfriend, that’s totally cool, but he cannot be crashing here all the time and not paying for it. I don’t want to live with a couple. I am seeking a female flatmate because I have had experience in share houses and find girls are easier to live with in most ways, I offer you my assurance that all boundaries will be respected at all times. I’m not going to hit on you or your friends. Looking forward to hearing from suitable candidates, either studying or employed, someone with a brain and no elitists, racists or bogans please. Overseas travellers are more than welcome!… Girls up to the age of 35 without children or huge dramas are welcome. This is a big old house - someone needs to make use of it!... and no - there are no ghosts!! (So many ppl ask me that - it was a GP’s practice - not a morgue!).... ok 😅 Cheers!… Marty.

Message Marty to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

$160 weekly rent$640 bond
Some bills included in rentInternet not available
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 1 month stayAvailable now
Females only
Flexible with furnishings
Off-street parking

About the flatmates

I’m 40 years old, single, kind and educated, a well travelled and respectful guy, I live with my dog and best friend, Huxley. I’m originally from Sydney, however I have lived on the Gold Coast and Brisbane for about 30 years now. I am a consulting Arboriculturist (tree specialist & retired climber), visual artist and DJ, although I don’t play gigs these days but rather collect and curate vinyl records and tend to play at home when I feel so inclined. I live in the separate living quarters at the rear of the house, with a separate entrance and living area, ideally my presence will not impose upon yours, and vice versa. In saying that though, I am open to hanging out if we happen to get along, although I would prefer to keep the living arrangements with clear boundaries and mutual respect for one another and our respective spaces. I am currently taking time off work and am home quite a bit, however with the separate living quarters, separate lounge rooms and kitchens, I envisage this not being an issue as far as space and quiet goes. I do play music quite regularly but it’s always quality & volume is always kept to a respectful level. I don’t have benders, but I do stay up late. I like to read books, do music related things, study, and I eat very healthy for the most part.! My dog is hyper-intelligent, he is 11 1/2 years old and never far from my side. He barks only to say hello & welcome but otherwise he is very chill and great company. I’m not a needy type, I’m fine if we only say hi briefly or have a nice long chat on any given day. These things develop organically and I’ll know if we’ll click or not.
Ideally I’d like to live with someone who is kind, open, independent, deep, not shy but also not noisy and inconsiderate. Must like dog.
This house is truly unique and interesting, and ultra secure - like a fortress. Any questions, pls ask.
M

Loading...