Get started with a FREE listing

Get started

Altona, Melbourne

Free to messagePrivate room with own bathroom
Contact Care Connect

About the property

Homeshare: A furnished, self-contained floor in the beach-facing home of a woman in her 80’s. Accommodation in exchange for some practical support around the home.

Close to public transport - 3mins walk to Bus Stop and 10mins walk to Altona Train Station.

Homeshare is an exciting program run by Care Connect. It offers a simple but effective way of meeting people's support and housing needs; it is already a worldwide proven way of supporting people to live independently in their community. Homeshare works on a reciprocal principle – the householder provides low-cost accommodation in exchange for companionship and agreed support provided by the homesharer.

You will have the self-contained ground floor of the two-storey home, which includes a kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. A shared laundry and gym are also on the ground floor. Carport and garage parking available.

Altona is a suburb situated 13km south-west of the CBD. The home is overlooking Altona beach, one of two swimming beaches in Melbourne’s western suburbs. Minutes away from shops, cafes and public transport. A 30-40min drive and 30min train ride to the city centre.

If you would like to register an expression of interest in this Homeshare opportunity, we kindly ask you to call and ask to speak to a coordinator about the Homeshare Program and mention this advert.

For more information, please visit: https://www.careconnect.org.au/home-care-packages/homeshare-program/

Property accepting of

Retirees
40+ years
LGBTI+

Message Care Connect to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$30 weekly rentNo Bond
Bills included in rentInternet included in rent
Private room
Own bathroom
Minimum 6 months stayAvailable now
Anyone except couples
Flexible with furnishings
Off-street parking

Features

Double bed
Bed side table
Wardrobe
Door lock
TV
Heater
Couch
Chair
Desk
Kitchenette

About the flatmates

We are looking for a mature, friendly, well-read and reliable housemate. You must be willing to be home most nights of the week, as overnight presence is a priority. You will be sharing the home with a widowed, retired social worker and translator in her 80’s. She is an intelligent and friendly person who enjoys sharing interesting conversations, but who wants her independence and privacy respected.

Practical support may include: overnight presence and companionship, some assistance with shopping and lifts to appointments.

Loading...