Get started with a FREE listing

Get started

Brunswick East, Melbourne

Early BirdPrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact Kit

About the property

Room available in lovely veg/vegan, queer sharehouse - Brunswick East!
Availability: Now
Rent: $780.80 per month plus bills. $18/ea for unlimited 100/20 NBN internet reliably through the whole house, plus gas, electricity and water.
Bond: $800 and held by the RTBA.
Furnishings: Unfurnished, but we can always help
We’re a queer house looking for a long-term housemate, who is a Vegan (or vegetarian who doesn’t eat dairy) and is fully vaccinated
*****************************************************

TL;DR:
The House, located on the unceded Country of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nation consists of:
5 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, 2 toilets, large kitchen dining and lounge space, separate rumpus room/studio/lounge/gym/dance space, laundry with washing machine and dryer, plus ducted heating and evap cooling and super fast internet for the streamers and work from homers. We have lots of created and shared spaces to make use of, outside and in, vegetable gardens, and even an outdoor bath! It’s a house where we try to consider other housemates so that we all feel at home, and it means we look after ourselves in the process. We have a lovely retiring dog so won’t be able to accept any more pets. It's actively inclusive, and you'd be sharing it with fully vaxxed LGBTQIA+ identifying housemates

The Room:
The cutest room (3.8 x 2.9m), can easily fit a queen sized bed and desk. The room gets the delicious morning easterly sun and enjoys the shade during the warmer parts of the afternoon. No built in robes but ample picture hooks for the hanging of things, not enough hooks? Add more!
To apply, please message me (Kit) with some details about yourself, including an answer to the question:
"What was your favourite feature of your last house, and what are you excited about in your next one?"

*****************************************************
How we make this house a home:
We aim to share fortnightly dinners where one or many of us cook (cooking vegan meals or meals with dietary inclusions for those who are there), which ensures that there are nights where you can have something home cooked and the whole house can come together. We balance times where we eat as a house, or bring guests (pre-covid), to ensure that dinner is a great place to bring up anything you’ve noticed that could be improved in the house, and be heard respectfully. We reflect on our weeks to the level you feel like sharing, sometimes about great weeks, other times not, other times totally unmemorable ones. Each person cooking helps to set the tone of the night and we flexibly arrange times around our schedules. This night could also be a garden working bee, crafternoon, movie night, skill share etc, but we love to eat. We also have a household garden!

*****************************************************
Getting here: Tram: We’re on the 1, 6, and 96 lines. Train: The closest train is the Upfield line, which is around a five minute ride away or a little over a kilometre. Bus: We’re on the 508 bus line which runs to Northcote and Moonee Ponds. Car: There are plenty of parks here which are unmetered, so it’s possible to park here if you have a car.

*****************************************************
Accessibility: The house has one inch steps into each major doorway and 2-3 inches into the shower, but has broad hallways and doorways. There is one staircase to a non-essential area with a rail. There are no other fitted rails or accessible accessories throughout the home at this time, but this is definitely open to change. If you have any queries at all, please reach out and I can let you know to the best of my ability, or we can arrange a viewing.

******************************************************
Environmental: As a house we eat vegan or vegetarian food. Our electricity and gas is sourced from renewables (electricity) and carbon neutral (gas), and we rarely buy new where we can buy or trade for used or unique. We have a massive active compost and collect from our neighbourhood too. We haven’t been dumpster diving much since Covid, and we're all basically still rookies but it’s something we enjoyed. We're currently attempting to grow more of the foods we eat regularly. We also separate our recycling including soft plastic, non-council metals, e-waste etc. We don't produce a large quantity of general waste, and ride bikes where we can.

Message Kit to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$181 weekly rent$724 bond
Bills not included in rentInternet available, not included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 3 months stayAvailable now
Anyone except couples
Unfurnished
On-street parking

About the flatmates

A little about us:

Oliver – (He/Him, They/Them)
Oli, essentially part of the furniture at this point, and makes killer sourdough focaccias and pizzas. He just finished studying Horticulture and volunteers with a variety of local orgs, including Fawkner Food Bowls and helping out at The Brunswick Tool Library. He likes to work with physical materials and is into fermentation. Kimchi, yogurt, ginger beer, yum. He loves to chat to people in the street over the front fence when working on the veggie garden, and connects with the neighbourhood through Sharewaste (taking in compost from the area). The provider of comforting chats and/or meals, he keeps weird hours because sleep is hard, so if you’re awake late chances are he is too. Oli’s partner is Ella, who has their own room.

Thom – (He/Him + Queer/Aro + ND)
Thom has been around for a while now too, and invests much of his energy throughout the week advising on sustainability issues and climate action. His work is a mixture of in the office and at home. He actually, like, enjoys his corporate job but doesn’t hesitate to share updates on silly office related antics/shenanigans. Thom finds a lot of job in his queer football team and gym, teaching his old dog new tricks, hiking and drinks in parks with friends. He’s a bit introverted so when needing to recharge his social solar panels, he turns to tv, food, stacking things on/being silly with Ella, bed, and brushing Boofy.

Ella / Ali – (They/Them - Queer)
The second newest addition to the house but has been friends with everyone for ages. They’re always ready with random facts about bats, a cool new song, or to help out with gardening and redecorating. They’re studying a Masters of Social Work, and pre-covid they could be found on the closest dancefloor, starting many a dance circle and swapping outfits. They love to twist knobs on their DJ controller and provide the beats for any sunny arvo. They like to fill their time with sick workouts, open-to-all dance classes, hooping in the park, cooking spicy-hot (slightly experimental) meals, and whispering sweet-nothings to Boofy. Ella’s partner is Oli, who has his own room.

Kit/Kieran- (He/They + Queer + ND)
Kit loves brunch, baking treats, and is obsessed with making it through the day (Covid got me good). They are the newest in the house and have been here for a year and a half. He is halfway through his graduate year in nursing and is considering a change of career into private practice after working in healthcare throughout the pandemic. They love a goss, and 10/10 will spill the tea. Sometimes he’s shouty, and we all get on board, sometimes they’re quiet and we don’t see them. He spends most of his time in the communal spaces and loves being surrounded by people but will give you space when you want it. They want to be a StrongBoi (™) like Ella and may plagiarise aspects of your personality (you’re welcome they have impeccable taste). He is a big vegan lefty who loves to have a chat about all things politics (special interest anyone?).

Boofy/Boof – (Babe/Bubbalub/Pupperoo)
Employee of the month for the past 10 years, this angelbaby/seal is the Blyth St Pupper. Taking after her Father (Thom) in the anxiety department, she is both speedy and slow. As she begins to feel the effects of time and gravity, she is pivoting to different activities to engage her mind more than her body. Thom is primarily responsible for her wellbeing, but she will happily go on walks with any of the housemates if they would like the company. Boofy spends time outside and in, but as she grows older and the weather becomes colder, she spends more time curled in the lounge or Thom’s room. This gives her somewhere warm to curl up and sometimes Thom/Ella need her support. She is 10/10 very well behaved but does appreciate a thorough introduction when meeting new people.

Loading...