Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Clayton, Melbourne

Free to messagePrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact Vlad

About the property

It is really important for us for our house to be a home - i.e. a nurturing and supportive environment for everyone, with a strong sense of community. So, we are looking for a like-minded, fun and contemplative housemate (or a couple), who we can also see ourselves being close friends with.

Get to know us, by seeing us perform! Ali on a hand drum (djembe) & Brett on the guitar. Send us a message, and we'll happily send you a youTube link to us jamming :) [unfortunately Flatmates doesn't allow us to post external links here!].

Brett, Vlad and I also laugh, dance, read, talk, run after chickens (as evidenced by the photos ;), share stories, and dream what it might mean to live a good life, and then run experiments accordingly (trying to be as good as we can).

We love sharing what we have, while also respecting individual privacy and autonomy. We always strive to treat each other well, and for anything that affects everyone, we are committed to making decisions collaboratively and as equals, prioritising creative solutions that everyone can be enthusiastic about. We value & are committed to resolving any issues/conflict, directly, collaboratively, and swiftly. We'd love to have a housemate who shares these qualities and commitments.

We are looking for a housemate (or a couple) who is open-minded, honest, trustworthy, friendly, environmentally conscious and reliable. We like living in a house that is clean and well-organised, and would also like a housemate who values this and will do their bit to make it happen (especially in communal areas).

We like people and like having social gatherings (when not under lockdown!) and so are very much open to the house being host to parties, dancing, poetry evenings, open mics, movie nights, etc., as long as everyone invited treats the house and everyone else there with the respect we all deserve (i.e. no trashing of the house, aggressive behaviour, etc.).

Walking distance to the train station, shops and Monash University, our house is ideal for anyone who studies or works in the area. The house is quiet and spacious, making it easy to study or relax at home, as well as have guests over.

Our room will be available unfurnished, so as to allow people to bring in their own furniture if they’d like to. However if you have a preference for furnished rooms, please let us know and we’d be happy to furnish them with a bed, wardrobe and a study table, free of charge & prior to your arrival! :)

The rest of the house is furnished but there is space for people to place some of their own things in the common areas, if they’d like to. We also have substantial storage space available in the garage.

In addition to our house being a home, it is also important to us that our neighbourhood is a place where everyone feels welcomed and loved.

To help bring this about, we have made an active effort to get to know our neighbours – via conversations on the street, sharing produce, compost, food and visiting each other’s houses.

We know 5 – 10 households around us, and are particularly close with the sharehouse next door.

Our efforts at community building have been reciprocated with friendly smiles and hellos whenever we’re out and about, and frequent gifts of food from fellow residents of the magical Margaret St and surrounds.

We are looking for a housemate who shares our enthusiasm for a welcoming and supportive community, including heart warming and regular neighbourly interactions :)

(You can see some of our wonderful neighbours, as well as other regular visitors {such as partners & friends}, in the photos above).

Property accepting of

Students
LGBTI+

Message Vlad to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$150 weekly rent$600 bond
Bills not included in rentInternet available, not included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 12 months stayAvailable now
Anyone welcome
Flexible with furnishings
On-street parking

About the flatmates

You will be living with:

Brett - early 30s, works as a baker and landscape designer in regenerative agriculture. Has a deep passion for systems ecology and design. Enjoys communal living, growing and cooking food. Downtime is spent exploring sonic landscapes whether listening to or playing music (accoustic guitar/ or electronic Bass)

Ali - early 30s, part-time school teacher & entrepreneur. Is into dancing, banging on the djembe (African drumming!), poetry (writing, performing & listening), improv, philosophy, enthusiastically embracing silliness and fun, hiking, tree climbing, pillow fights and Early Retirement Extreme! Among other deviancies.

Vlad - late 20's, leveraging experience from the finance, property and public service industries to leisurely develop income streams from passions which include hiking and camping, scuba diving, innovation, sustainable systems, DIY solutions and keeping up to date with current trends in politics, finance and technology. Enjoys playing League of Legends, Battlefield 1 and Civ as well as listening to electronic and other music and experimenting in the garden, kitchen and in our workshop!

We all have an interest in permaculture and sustainable living, with this involving us growing food in & cooking from our yards, as well as taking care of (& eating eggs from!) three vibrant hens. Humans with an interest in this lifestyle score extra brownie points!

Loading...