Get started with a FREE listing

Get started

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Melbourne.

Fawkner, Melbourne

Early BirdPrivate room with own bathroom
Contact Tamika

About the property

The house is HUGE! Its a 5 bedder, you have a decent sized room with a wardrobe. Your room is unfurnished.. but there is room for a big bed, desk and side tables. We have a big garage, a garden shed and an old bungalow for storing bits and bobs. We have a big grassy front yard and entertaining area out the back with a pool table and deck. Just set up a patch for veggies that hasn't been planted yet so if you have a green thumb could be a little house project :) We have also been preparing other garden beds around the house since we moved in that were full of weeds by laying black tarp (pesticides are a hell no for us!).

We have a spare bedroom for guests and 3 bathrooms. One bathroom with a shower and sink can be 100% yours (its downstairs). We have our own shower and sink in our master bedroom and 3 shared toilets throughout the house (1 upstairs, 2 downstairs). There is also another communal bathroom with a spa bath in it downstairs where a lot of our plants live. We are also able to offer a space in the garage for you to do little projects or have a little studio space if you are an artist. We had intended to build our mushroom house hence why we sought after a place with a massive garage, but are postponing this project till we buy a house sometime next year.

The kitchen is fully equip with a few bonuses like a coffee machine and two fridges (limited freezer space). Liam and I are pretty environmentally conscious and would like to share a house with someone much the same. We are both SW and LGBTIQA+ friendly. Our house is a homey home that we love to share with family and friends, not a party house. Although we do have a bar in the lounge for entertaining if the mood strikes. We would love to share this home with someone we can be mates with, that's open to meeting new people and sharing meals together on the odd occasion.

CURRENTLY LEASE IS UNTIL END OF JAN 2023 WITH POSSIBILITY OF EXTENSION. We are hoping to have the lease for another 6 months after this and then will be buying a house.

Property accepting of

Students
LGBTI+

Message Tamika to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$200 weekly rent$800 bond
Bills not included in rentInternet available, not included in rent
Private room
Own bathroom
6 – 12 months stayAvailable now
Anyone except couples
Unfurnished
On-street parking

Features

Door lock
Wardrobe

About the flatmates

Tamika and Liam here, we are a couple and both in our 30s. Tamika (me), I study a bachelor of science specialising in marine systems full-time remotely from home, I sometimes travel for university residentials and Liam works full-time as a locator-surveyor. Most weekends I work one of two jobs either as a hostess and deckhand on a function boat or I am a dancer for one of the gentlemen's clubs in the city. I work casually throughout the year in Environmental education for school kids when the opportunity arises and volunteer at a bird rescue and marine education centre for kids on the odd occasion.

Liam is more of an introvert and is quiet (till you get to know him). I am more of an extrovert who is quite out going. We are both homebodies when we are not working and enjoy keeping a lovely home which we share with my two birds and our two cats unless on holiday. We both work really hard whether its me studying and working multiple jobs or Liam taking a lot of away work, we are both very driven in developing and growing in our careers and achieving our financial goals.

Back to the animals...

The birds. My two rescue rainbow lorikeets have their own room downstairs and interact outside the room under supervision daily. DT. Squawks is more chill and hangs in the room a lot, Starburst however loves people and is very friendly and often with me around the house. I aim to ensure that housemates interaction with bird mess is zero to none so need be worried about that.

The cats. Saddie and Bags. Both pretty timid but affectionate when you get to know them. They spend a lot of time in our room or upstairs. Although, naps on the dining chairs are sometimes on the cards or hiding in the linen cupboard. They are both 100% indoor cats. The cats are terrified of the birds, so it works :)

Liam and I are pretty chill with our evenings at home, either we are in the lounge watching Netflix or our bedroom if we have to be up early. We are both into scuba diving, snowboarding and aspire to get back into climbing when life isn't so busy. Bonus if you enjoy these things or wanna get into them. Liam's uncle owns a dive shop in Queenscliff where we visit sometimes and can stay, plus planning a big trip to Japan this December for hit the Pow! (JOIN US). We have friends over on the odd occasion for dinner and board games which we would love if you joined in! We aren't big drinkers at all, but when the mood strikes in good company we might pull the cocktail shaker out of the bar and crank the expresso martinis. I love to cook when I have the time and will always invite you to join us. Liam is vegetarian and I try to be. We never prepare meat unless its fish at home on the odd occasion. Not bothered if you do, although it would be a bonus if you didn't. Having lived in massive share houses in Berlin in the past with people from all over the world, I miss big dinners chatting over a cuppa into the night! We are both pretty busy people so social occasions can be a rarity but we welcome them when we have to opportunity.

We are both open-minded, socially conscious and environmentally conscious and would prefer if you were too.

SW & LGBTIQA+ friendly! We like to think of our house as a safe for all people.

Loading...