Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

This place is no longer available.

View other listings in Perth.

Thomas Street, Nedlands, Perth

Early BirdPrivate room with shared bathroom

Bills not inc.






Total number of flatmates
once all rooms are occupiedAbout the Flatmates

Contact Mary-Anne Lowe

About the property

The WHITEHOUSE was fittingly named after our beloved house pet George Washington (it's a peg octopus). Also, the house is white. It is situated just a short little meander from UWA (15min walk), IGA (10min walk) and I guess Cap S (if you are young enough to find this enticing). If you drive, it is minutes away from these previously mentioned places and also about a 7minute drive to Claremont Quarter and 13 minutes to the beach!
It is a beautiful, old style house (3x1.5) with high ceilings, massive rooms and an even more massive yard that is perfect for summer chill times. Given its an old house it gets a little chilly in the winter but nothing a woolen jumper can’t fix, other than that it's really in excellent condition.
Our Landlord it very reasonable and he likes us, so we have never really had a house inspection. He also helps out quite a lot in terms of taking care of our massive yard, which is handy if you struggle to keep pots plants alive like me. And besides all these great qualities Nedlands is a brilliant place to live in general. Super leafy streets.

The room:
The room up for grabs is actually more like two rooms. The first has a chest of draws. The second is a sunroom with tonnes of natural light with a desk and wardrobe. We can remove all the furniture except the wardrobe if you are coming with your own stuff. Currently there is no bed but if you do not have a bed there is a single bed available if you want it (currently it is in the lounge for guests when they stay)

Property preferences

Students accepted

Message Mary-Anne Lowe to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room Details

Private room
Shared bathroom
Anyone welcome
$180 weekly rent$360 bond
Bills not included in rentInternet available, not included in rent
Minimum 3 months stayAvailable now
Flexible with furnishings
Off-street parking

About the flatmates

Housemate 1. I'm a soil science PhD student at UWA. I'm pretty chilled, love a good chat, the beach in summer, board games, wine, cheese, etc.. I have my family come to stay when they are in Perth (not very often) and I am fine with you also having people camp out in the lounge room if they need somewhere to stay.

Housemate 2. I'm another PhD student at UWA. I'm based at the QE2 Hospital. I'm from Malaysia but have been in Perth since 2012. Always happy to go hunting for good coffee places (classic PhD times). I'm pretty chill, enjoy watching science-ish shows as well as stuff like the bachelor (don't judge). I hate spiders and cockroaches so if you get rid of them id be grateful.

4 things:
We try to keep a low drama household and as PhDs we would like to keep it that way (ain't nobody got time for drama).
We try to keep common areas in a workable state (were not clean freaks but do like it to be usable).
We sometimes share food but in general as everyone seems to have different schedules it's easiest for us to shop and cook separately most the time.
IMPORTANT: we might be moving out in June next year (2019) as PhDs are finishing etc. if you love the place im sure the landlord would love to switch the lease over to you. but if not this is something you should probably factor in.