Get started with a FREE listing

Get started

Maroubra, Sydney

Free to messagePrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact Fahimah

About the property

We have a fully furnished 'king single' bedroom available in our vegetarian home. The room is modestly sized and is east facing with good sea views. The rent is $320pw including all bills (internet/gas/electricity).

Maroubra Beach is only a five or ten minute stroll from our house. You can also swim at the beautiful Mahon rock pool, and there are some nice ocean walks, either north towards Bondi or south around the Malabar headland.

There are bus routes with stops near our front door, and UNSW is about 15 minutes away. We have supermarkets and smaller shops nearby at Maroubra Junction, and there are some great little cafes in the area, including the Grumpy Baker and Chalk, near the beach, and Herb'n'Sprout, along Maroubra Rd.

Our bathroom is communal and clean and the kitchen is a good size for preparing meals, with an additional bar fridge for our flatmates' use. The household is vegetarian, so we ask that you do not eat or store any meat products or fish on the premises. We have a compost bin for food scraps and there are rubbish and recycling facilities by the footpath.

There is a Hills Hoist in the garden (shared with our neighbours downstairs) and there are indoor clotheslines in the laundry in case it rains. For relaxing at home we have plenty of good books which you're welcome to read while you are staying with us.

It's worth noting that the grass verge down to our front gate from the footpath is a bit steep, and there are also steps up to our front door, so access for guests without full mobility would be difficult. Being an older house, there are some great period features such as high ceilings, stained glass windows and polished floorboards, but the rooms are not soundproofed, so although we are not noisy by nature there may be some ambient sound from the use of the shared spaces.

Please also note that our home is shoes-free inside and that we live with a friendly cat who isn't allowed to escape :)

Message Fahimah to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$320 weekly rent$640 bond
Bills included in rentInternet included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 3 months stayAvailable now
Anyone except couples
Furnished
On-street parking

Features

Single bed
Drawers
Wardrobe
Door lock
Heater
Chair
Lamp
Desk

About the flatmates

We enjoy a shared vegetarian/vegan meal together when we're around, but you can choose to spend time with us or not, as suits your plans. You'll be sharing with a couple and a cat: Fahimah is an architect and activist and David is a writer and film maker and sometime student who also works in a cinema. We enjoy having flatmates from diverse cultural backgrounds, and currently have a PhD student from Mexico staying with us, studying AI. Our home is best suited to mindful guests who are looking for something more than just a crash pad.

Loading...