Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Sydenham Road, Marrickville, Sydney

Free to messagePrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact Pete

About the property

This place can be treated as a share house, run by the landlord, however it can also be treated as "single-room occupancy accommodation". The good thing is you have the flexibility to choose which way you want to live in this place. Either way, the rent is cheap for such a great location and convenient access to public transport. Just a short walk to the Marrickville shopping strip and there is also Marrickville Metro nearby. The landlord is a very nice Chinese couple. They are very friendly people.

This place has a nice and cosy feel to it. Located on the first floor, there are 2 vacant rooms available. Room 1 is $165/wk (size approx. 2mX5m). Room 2 is a bit larger and the rent is $190/wk (size approx. 4mX5m). Both room comes with all the furniture you need. The rent may be negotiable. Bond is 2 weeks rent. 3 months minimum stay. (You must give the landlord 2 weeks notice before moving out, if you want your bond refunded.)

All utilities and bills are included in the rent: Water, electricity, washing machine (7.5kg) and ADSL2 internet.
However, if you choose to run an electric heater throughout winter, the Landlord may make you pay for the excess electricity usage.

There are 3 rooms directly next to each other:
1 shower room with a modern laundry tub
1 toilet with a hand-basin
1 toilet with showers, and hand-basin

This setup is extremely versatile unlike a lot of places I have seen. For example if someone is using the kitchen sink, it is possible to use the laundry tub as a kitchen sink. There are 2 large fridges available, with separate compartments allocated to each housemate.

General Rules:
This type of environment is not real suitable for pets. However, you may get away with a well trained cat.
We have been asked to keep the common areas clean and be considerate of others. Everyone must clean up after themselves. This is a nice peaceful environment and we respect everyone's privacy. Noise isolation in this place is not real great since the dividing walls are not made of bricks. We would really appreciate no loud music or late night partying, thanks.

Just a kind note: Please allow up to 1 day for a response. I am available to invite people for inspection between 8pm to 9pm during weekdays or anytime during the weekend (by appointment only).

Property accepting of

Smokers
Students
40+ years
LGBTI+

Message Pete to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$165 weekly rent$330 bond
Bills included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 3 months stayAvailable now
Females only
Furnished
On-street parking

Features

Single bed
Bed side table
Drawers
Wardrobe
Door lock
Chair
Desk

About the flatmates

Everyone here mind their own business, so there are no dramas. Since quite a few of us tend to stay in our rooms most of the time, go out for meals or eat TV dinners, there are no issues with the use of toilets, showers or kitchen. Any other time, we try to work in with each when it comes to the use of Kitchen, bathrooms and washing machine.

There are 6 of us living here at the moment. We are all in our 30s and 40s, so we are pretty mature. Two men are from China and speak Mandarin. One man from India. One Woman from NZ. One woman from China (she is never home).

...and of course there is me. I am probably the oldest here.
Originally from HK, I came to Australia when I was 10 y.o. I have live in Sydney ever since.

Since there are 4 male and 2 females here, we would like to see a good mixture of both genders in this environment. So we would prefer a couple of females to fill the rooms.

Update: Some of us could be moving out shortly, so we have adjusted the number of people who need to use the common facilities.

Loading...