Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Lord Street, Newtown, Sydney

Free to messagePrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact Kate

About the property

Private room available in 2 bedroom house. The magic of this room is that it’s separate from the rest of the house and opens out onto the garden. It has a sturdy loft bed which can fit up to a King size mattress, leaving more floor space for your other belongings. The bathroom, kitchen, lounge room etc. are shared.

Location:
It's super close to South King St, Sydney Park and St Peter's station.
It's also close to Marrickville Metro.

Other stuff:
There's unlimited internet that's connected to the NBN.
With five cats there's usually one around when you need one. At the same time they tend to space themselves out, so unless they're on my bed, it's rare you'll have too many bothering you at once.
Given how close it is to King St it's surprisingly quiet and there's regularly the kookaburras laughing about something that appeals to Kookaburra humour.

Property accepting of

40+ years
LGBTI+
All female flat

Message Kate to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

Details

$360 weekly rent$1440 bond
Bills not included in rentInternet available, not included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 6 months stayAvailable now
Females only
Unfurnished
On-street parking

Features

Queen bed
Door lock

About the flatmates

Hi there, I'm Kate. Flatmates suggests I start with saying what I do for work, but I'm going to start with the fun stuff that I like to do. I enjoy Arabic drumming, swimming in the ocean, fitness classes in the park, TV shows that aren't too scary, geeking out on psychology podcasts, messing about with water colour inks and colouring in my 'cute animals swearing' colouring book.

I work as a mental health social worker, which involves supporting people dealing with some pretty heavy stuff. So when it's my down time I like to do things that bring joy into my life and remind me to laugh and not only be serious.

My friends say I'm pretty random and I've been told that I remind them of Phoebe from Friends and Mr Squiggle. I guess you can make of that what you will! I have five cats, so must have a bit of crazy cat lady in me as well.

What's important to me in a housemate:
-I enjoy sharing with other people and am looking for a housemate that likes some social connection when we are both home.
-It's important to me that you are an animal lover as the cats are very much a part of the home.
-I'm looking for someone who's definitely a non-smoker. Very occasionally I will have shisha with friends in the backyard, but I really don't like the smell of cigarettes even if you were to smoke outside.
-I'm a vegetarian and would prefer to live with another non-meat eater, but this isn't a deal breaker for me and I don't believe in yucking someone else's yum.
-Flatmates.com only gives the binary option for gender which is pretty crap. So to clarify I'm totally open to living with someone who identifies as female or non-binary. Sorry to exclude you men, but when it comes to who I live with I need to feel comfortable in my home sanctuary.
-You being environmentally conscious is essential.
- I'm not really a party person, so this place is probably better suited to someone who is also not a big partier.

One other important thing is that I own my place. Bonuses of this are that you won't ever have to deal with slimy real estate agents or worry about what happens when the lease ends. Until this year I've lived in shared rental properties for my entire adult life, so I certainly know what it's like to be a renter. Although I own the place, it will definitely be your home too and I'm looking for someone who wants to share in creating this home.

Loading...