Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Duke Street, Nundah, Brisbane

Free to messagePrivate room with own bathroom
Contact Michelle

About the property

** Room available is for one person only and no earlier than 10 April due to me travelling. Non smoker, no pets and no couples please. Sharing apartment with one other person - myself, a 38 year old professionally employed female. Rent includes ALL household bills (wifi high speed internet, electricity and water), fortnightly cleaner, fully furnished bedroom with near new double bed, airconditioning and ceiling fan, and secure undercover car park. You would also have your own large bathroom, and small balcony off the bedroom. The bathroom is also the laundry so I would only use the laundry part as I have the ensuite. Apartment is located in the heart of Nundah, 5 min walk to Nundah Train station and bus stops, shops, bars, and cafes. 15 min from Brisbane Airports and Brisbane City. Open to both short term (nothing less than 3 months) and long term living arrangements. Room is available for viewing immediately, but as I'm going way on a holiday within Australia I'm not looking for anyone to move in until 10th April at the earliest after I'm back. I'm willing to wait for the right person and right fit for my home. Rent amount is not negotiable**

WHAT I'M LOOKING FOR

Non Smoker, friendly but quiet, respectful, mature and trustworthy flatmate who is considerate of others.

Someone who does not need to work from home on the same days that I work from home (Tuesdays and Fridays), unless they are a student studying in their room or if we were to ever go into a full longer lockdown again, where there is no other option. Since Covid-19 I now I work from home 2 days a week permanently and go into the office in the city other days. My desk, computer and work phone is in a study nook, but it is in the common area. I need privacy on the days I work from home due to the confidentiality required in my career and can't have anyone else working in the common area on those days.

Someone who is a non partier at home, sees home as a quiet, safe, clean and relaxing space, who doesn't need to entertain constantly and have regular guests coming and going all the time.

Someone who has respect for privacy, is employed and reliable with rent, clean and hygienic, and will do their fair share of general household chores, eg. Emptying bin and loading and unloading dishwasher etc.

Someone who is a responsible adult, is independent and lives their own life, but still be friendly and not be a stranger within the home. I do like a chat and I do like the opportunity to share a meal and/or drinks from time to time with a flatmate and be social and get to know each other if my flat mate is open to it.

I do cook and eat meat so someone whose diet wont be offended by that.

A nice, easy, drama free living arrangement where we show mutual respect towards each other and all of my belongings that you have access to are treated well.

I'm totally ok if you have a friend over occasionally, and I will too, but I would always let you know first, and would expect the same in return.

The only storage available is within the main wardrobe of the available bedroom, there is no extra storage space available in the apartment. You will have shelves in the pantry and fridge, but no extra storage is available.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 38 year old straight, single by choice, professionally employed female. I have a lot of experience with housesharing over the years and am a very friendly, respectful, trustworthy person to live with. I’ve had both good and bad experiences over the years of sharing and know what I’m looking for in a flatmate which is the reason for the war and peace ad. I do tend to keep to myself, but do like to have a chat as well. I appreciate boundaries, space and privacy and am very considerate of others. I work a full time career Monday to Friday and also a weekend job as I usually love to travel overseas each year - but obviously at the moment I can't. I do work from home 2 days a week (Usually Tuesdays and Fridays) in an open area where my desk is, so would need privacy on those days that I work from home due to the confidentiality required in my main career.

I have a very busy work and social life and am not home that often. When I am, I just tend to chill watching TV, or I'm in my room. I have a large group of friends and a very close family who I also regularly socialise with away from home. I am friendly and always happy to have a chat, but sometimes I just want to crash in my room after a long day at work as both my jobs are very mentally draining.

ABOUT THE APARTMENT

The apartment is in an excellent location in the heart of Nundah Village and walking distance to cafe's, pubs, Woolworths, shops and public transport. 5 min walk to Nundah train station, 5-10 min walk to Toombul Shopping Centre and great new restaurants. 15 min to the city and 15 min to the airport. The bedroom available is furnished with a comfortable near brand new double bed and comfortable mattress as well as a matching bedside table. It also has a small white display/bookshelf. There is a large wardrove with a chest of drawers inside it. The furniture in the room will not be removed, and there is no room for any other furniture in the main apartment. However, in the available bedroom, there is room for a small bookshelf and/ or TV cabinet and TV in the bedroom if you wanted to add that. It is a double sized bedroom, so not a large room, but it does have a small balcony, and large wardrobe, fan and air conditioning. The room has plenty of natural light, and nice breezes in summer.

You really don't need to bring anything other than your clothes, your own linen for the bedroom and bathroom and buying your own food. I have all the modern kitchen appliances etc, and don't mind sharing everything. I'm not a big cook as I don't enjoy it, but I do still use the kitchen and do cook occasionally when I feel like it.

FINANCIALS

Bond is 2 weeks rent paid before you move in. Rent needs to be paid to me by bank transfer on a weekly or fortnightly basis once you move in.

I'm not looking for anyone to be on a lease with me. It will continue to stay in my name only, but I will arrange for you to be an approved tenant with the real estate agency so it will all be legit, but I'll be the only person on the lease. I'll let you know when inspections are and I'll be the one dealing with the agency. Bond is paid to me as the RTA won't accept extra bond when the full bond has already been paid on the lease as it has been paid by me. The only time I have not returned someone's bond to them is because they damaged some of my belongings and they needed to be replaced and they gave me no notice when leaving, otherwise I always return it. I also do up a signed rental agreement between the both of us.

Property accepting of

LGBTI+
Students
40+ years

Message Michelle to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

$230 weekly rent$460 bond
Bills included in rent
Private room
Own bathroom
Minimum 3 months stayAvailable 10 April 2021
Anyone except couples
Furnished
Off-street parking

About the flatmates

You will be sharing with myself only. I don't mind what age you are or whether you're male or female, as long as you are independent, clean, a non partier at home, don't have regular guests over and have maturity and respect for others. I have lived with a variety of flat mates over the years. The apartment is not child friendly as I have a lot of breakables.

If you have any questions, or would like to arrange a time to see the room and meet me, and have a chat, please feel free to message me on here and I'll give you my number.

I am a very friendly and easy going person, but I just like to be very clear in what I'm looking for in a living situation. As I mentioned, I am open to short term and longer term living arrangements and can be completely flexible... It's all about the right person for me. I'm not in any rush and willing to wait for the right person.

Loading...