Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

White Street, Cremorne, Melbourne

Free to messagePrivate room with shared bathroom
Contact Envera

About the property

***We are taking the current CoVid lockdowns VERY seriously, and not holding viewings until after 30th SEPTEMBER to ensure we abide by all the Stage 4 rules****

PLEASE read the WHOLE of this listing before you make contact. MOST of your questions are answered in the details!
NOTE: Early Bird status delays your message by several days, but we DO reply once we receive it.****

This house is best suited to "unpartnered" (single) people not into hook-ups - maybe Internationals, WHVs, shiftworkers, new arrivals or students, who need a cheap, quiet and calm home environment in a super convenient location with clean, respectable and friendly chilled substance-free housemate/s who have their own things going on, but really enjoy chats at home when schedules align. Both of us work, study and volunteer. One international male, one Aus female - not a couple.

The larger room is available, but INSPECTIONS CAN ONLY BE HELD BY APPOINTMENT AFTER 30th SEPTEMBER due to new CoVid Stage 4 restrictions and lockdowns. (For ONE person rent is $240pw incl bills, bedlinen and some household consumables)
If the room is shared, rent is higher ($360pw incl) when 2 people use it. IT IS NOT SET UP FOR COUPLES.

The smaller room ($220 pw incl Utility bills) is NOT available as yet...our current housemate is renting with us on a month by month basis due to visa extension issues.

No more than 4 people TOTAL will ever be in the house. Usually only 3 live here - 1 person per bedroom, so it is definitely not overcrowded like some other places...We normally do not have extra people stay over, because the house is really small and the demands on kitchen or "bathroom time" becomes unworkable - the bathroom doubles as the laundry.

Victorian-era cottage - VERY small, basic and OLD (has some cracks, squeaks and wobbles befitting the great age of the home) - located in a FANTASTIC safe and quiet spot, walking distance to everything (400m or less) such as parks, shops, transport, gyms, library, cafes....

Completely vintage, retro decor. Nearly everything we have is homemade, handed down, recycled, upcycled, repurposed or mended all with stories behind it, and we love it that way!

There is no sofa/couch in the living room as a small centrally-placed meals area fills that function. This seating area is the communal hub of the home as it is at the end of the hallway and next to both the kitchen and bathroom! And while there is a TV in there, it is a high traffic zone! And it has the BEST, most comfy rocking chair in the WORLD for when you're feeling tired, sad or stressed!

Totally unpretentious, home-y, snug and cozy, clean old fashioned family cottage, like a "Nanna-hobbit" place with a really lived-in look!!! An established family home, the kitchen has appliances, pots/pans, cutlery, glasses, teapots and plates. Also washing machine, vacuum, brooms, ironing board/iron, too. Everything! Accessible on respectful 'shared use' basis...you use it, you clean it, then put it back for others to use.

Gas cooking and gas instant HWS. Inside toilet and an inside bathroom which doubles as the laundry. The shower is over the bath.

Garden is a TINY shady-green and messy urban jungle wilderness, attracting bees, birds and critters (we always leave a dish of water they can access). NOT big enough for entertaining or BBQs, there is a compost bin, a few trees, many potted plants, a tiny paved area and good sized washline for drying laundry.
We keep the garden fairly 'natural', so the visiting wildlife and birds hang around or often run over the roof at night, raid the compost and eat the potplants, plus occasionally may stare at us through the windows! (Therefore, its a 'no pet' house...)

Message Envera to request an inspection

To inspect this room, send a message introducing yourself and ask to see their inspection times.

Room overview

$240 weekly rentNo Bond
Bills included in rentInternet included in rent
Private room
Shared bathroom
Minimum 2 months stayAvailable now
Anyone welcome
Furnished
On-street parking

About the flatmates

A quiet-living, frenetically busy working person who also does LOTS of voluntary community work in both Melb and VERY rural Victoria, a seven hour drive (one-way) away from home, so I may be away several days in a row from time to time. My days can be around 19-20 hours long, so I am EXTREMELY conscious of appointments, or schedules. I enjoy many diverse activities and interests including DIY/crafts, batch-cooking old-time foods from scratch, keeping fit /active / strong and a bit of gardening. I'm friendly, considerate, kind and thoughtful, not into creating class divides or dramas. I love being healthy, fit, active, involved and productive! Sometimes I half-watch TV docos, doing something else at the same time. Absolutely love deep or spirited conversations not small talk or 'reality' TV. Semi vego, simple- and frugal- living right into reducing 'consumption', waste minimization, recycling, repurposing, upcycling, passivhaus climate control, and all sorts of eco stuff. Rarely eat out (and never get home delivery!!) and minimize chemical use around the house as I have a SENSITIVITY / ALLERGY to alcohol (including most cleaning products that contain it) Housemates would need to be (very) occasional drinkers at home and non-partiers as even the smell of alcohol can trigger symptoms. I also have an allergy to CHILLIES.

Arash is a quiet-living, very focussed mature (40s) omnivore International student/ worker who is studying a Masters as well as working part-time. (We are NOT related, nor a couple) Super smart/educated (with several degrees) and very well-travelled into languages, cultural music, his extended family, fitness/health, nature the environment and animals, philosophy, world politics, history, socializing, cooking and generally being a cheerful conversationalist. Non-smoker, rarely drinks alcohol at home, but will go to the Pub and watch sports to have a break from study as well as some beers (when covid allows)...The eternal optimist, he has a very balanced world view and generally studies quietly at home when not working as a construction labourer or social researcher.. He enjoys riding his bike daily for exercise and when covid is not around, he likes to volunteer as much as possible to 'give back' to his community.

Loading...