Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Brookvale Housemates & Roommates

Viewing 1-12 of 46 results


Free to message

$225/week34 year old male

Hi! My name is Vinodh, but please feel free to call me Vin. I am 34 years old and work in retail at an electronics store. I was born in Sri Lanka but have lived in Australia since I was 3 years old - love this place! - and grew up in Melbourne, but moved to Sydney for a bit of a change in an environment. I graduated in mechanical engineering after school but am still looking for my true calling. I have worked as an IT web tester, claims administrator, bar attendant, and worked for in professional, government, and small business sectors. My main love at the moment is studying and practicing meditation and assisting/volunteering at the meditation center. I am presently interested in personal development and am following my curiosity in a variety of subjects - I am hoping, in my spare time, to study subjects like psychology, philosophy, economics, science, even astronomy, in the future. Presently, I am studying an online subject in sustainability and am also hoping to start a career in this field in the new year. I am also formally studying meditation. I love catching up with friends and family as often as possible and I’m really hoping to get back into some good fitness again in the new year. I do enjoy my footy (AFL) - go Bombers! - but am pretty open to all sports. I enjoy a good documentary, movie, and television series (love Game of Thrones) and staying abreast of world news. I also enjoy visiting a gallery, going to the beach or for a walk in nature, or going to a random local music gig, when I can. I am pretty open to different things and really enjoy trying something new. I am pretty easy going, open minded and broad in my preferences. Really important to me is respecting each person's individuality and their preferences. WORK AND LIFESTYLE I am currently working approximately 3 - 5 shifts throughout the week (inc. weekends) which vary in time and duration (between 8:30 am and 6:30 pm, and from 4 to 9 hours in length). Afterwork (weekday), I like to attend meditation classes; study; do some exercise (when I get back in the swing of things); or usually unwind by watching some Youtube, browsing the internet, or reading. On the weekend, I like to catch up with friends and family and attend any meditation events - all when I am not working in retail that is. It's hard for me to accept sometimes, but I think my party days are over (haha!) but I still enjoy the odd night out. SHAREHOUSE EXPERIENCE I’ve lived in sharehouses for approximately the last 9 years, in a variety of settings, so I have plenty of experience and understanding of what it takes for a successful house. I have lived in both small and large houses, from sharing with one other (i.e. two person household) and up to four others (i.e. five person household); and have lived in sharehouses which compose of “mostly males” and others which consist of “mostly females” . LIVING WITH OTHERS I am definitely not looking for a party house, just a warm, friendly and homely environment to live with friends. With respect to living with others, it is really important to me to perform my share of cleaning duties, in order to keep a functioning and livable home. I like to keep a clean house and am happy to accommodate to any standard. I enjoy having a laugh with my housemate over a tea/coffee/beer/wine (whilst I am not drinking alcohol these days), sharing a meal together, and/or chilling watching some TV/movie etc. when it suits, but I understand that people have their own lives, and like to respect others personal time and needs. I am looking for a friendly, easy going, honest person(s) with a positive attitude, and is reliable by paying rent & bills on time. I would like someone who is generally clean and tidy and knows when to pitch-in with cleaning duties. Similar interests and like-minded values are nice but not essential. I am happy to share with a professional or student, male or female, and am not concerned about your age or personal preferences. BUDGET, LENGTH OF STAY, AND MOVING DATE I am available to move out of my current residence pretty much immeditaley, therefore I am looking for a place to be either available now or in the near future. My budget is anywhere between $100-250 per week. I would prefer it be as low as possible and probably upto and including $160-200 per week (approx upto $850 per calendar month). I have entered a slightly higher budget into my Flatmates profile, primarily just to keep my options open, but would prefer a lower rental price if possible. Ideally, I would like to find a residence for a medium to long term period - ideally 6 months plus. (I have entered 3 months in the information above as a minimum stay) FOOD SHARING As described previously, I enjoy socialising with my housemate(s), by having a drink or meal together on occasion, or even heading out together as a household, in order to create a nice and warm home. In general though, I would prefer to organise my own food, primarily because I am pretty relaxed with what I eat, but I am happy to also cook a meal for others too. With respect to food, I am happy to accommodate for the preferences of the house which I am moving into. I am happy to share the common things (salt, oil, etc.) and am happy to pay my share and/or purchase the items when needed. I am also pretty cool with just buying my own things too like the salt, oil etc. - just let me know what your preference is. With respect to eating, I am a vegetarian, and a “sometimes vegan”, but I am completely ok with others cooking and eating meat. FURNITURE BEDROOM AND HOUSE With regards to furniture, I do not own much at the moment (just some basic kitchen utensils and appliances), so I would be preferred, but it is not essential, for the house to be mostly furnished. I will need to buy some furniture for my room (including bed frame and mattress), but I would be happy to consider a furnished room too. I am also happy to consider buying or sharing the costs of other household furniture which would be shared amongst (e.g fridge), so please don’t hesitate to ask. OTHER INFO I am not a smoker (anymore), but I am ok if you do smoke (preferably outside if outside). Also, I have lived with animals before (cats and dogs) and I do not mind if the house has some pets. ---- Anyway, that's heaps about me (haha!) but please feel free to find out more should you wish either by a message, phonecall or in person. Look forward to hearing from you, and hopefully meeting up for an inspection and chat with you shortly! Cheers, Vin

Available Now