Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Seddon Housemates & Roommates

Viewing 1-12 of 40 results
Updated

Daniel

Free to message

$300/week31 year old male

Hello! Thanks for stopping by, I'm a 31-year-old UI/UX Designer, working for a private consultancy in Sydney. I'm currently based in Sydney and looking to relocate back to my city of preference now that COVID restrictions allow it, and I have a job that I can take with me. I will be working from home (obviously). Hobbies include fitness/gym, art, anime, sci-fi, design, Twitch streaming, and EDM. Have no fear because have great headphones :) Im not looking to move earlier than my nominated date due to some family commitments and so it lines up with some booked leave from work. I am mostly putting out feelers and adding items to my shortlist for later review (and to see if they're still available). I am very experienced with share housing, having lived out of home since I was 18 in both Melbourne (2010-2015) for my studies and early career, and in Sydney from 2015 till now. I am also the head tenant of the place I'm currently staying in, so I'm well versed in the issues crappy tenants can bring and I have no intention to become one myself. I am fine with going on a lease and would love to be a part of a Teamup (can't provide any furniture, but I can contribute to an IKEA trip!). I'm in no rush to move before the nominated date and want to find a place that ticks all my boxes so I can stay there long term. What I come with: • A Bird. My 17-year-old Sun Conure - Chicken - is fully flighted, social and toilet trained. She loves fruit, nuts, cardboard tubes, neck scratches and thinks folding laundry is super fascinating. • Free internet! My workplace pays all my internet expenses. I will transfer my existing iiNet 100/40 Unlimited plan in the place of whatever internet you have for the benefit of the whole house. Trust me you are going to need it, as my approx. average monthly usage is around 1.9TB :P • I have a car so I'd like a place to park it. Streetside is fine. What I'm looking for: • No Roomshare. • Partially furnished. I do not require a desk, as I have my own specialised one (183x76cm). All other furniture items would be greatly appreciated. Entirely unfurnished is acceptable. • NBN Connectivity. A room within Carlton, Parkville, Brunswick or West Brunswick. Seddon and Yarraville are also under consideration or the CBD. If you do not live in one of these areas, or cannot confirm either the presence of NBN FTTP or FTTC/B in the CBD; I am not interested. • Relating to connectivity, my PC is not WiFi capable and will require an Ethernet connection to the router. If it can be relocated to my room or be in an area I can discreetly string a blue cable to it, that would be grand. • Open to having a bird in the house, and ideally have no existing pets that are a threat to birds. Her cage will require around 1 square meter of floor space. Ideally, I'd want to set her up somewhere that is visible from my PC desk, can get attention from others in the house and has a window for her to look outside of. • I don't mind the occasional keggers and coke lines, but a house that leans to the quiet side during the day with full-time students or professionals would be preferred :P • Detached house, townhouse, sharehouses, and apartments/studio are all welcome. Most people are not familiar with Birds and what they entail, so here is the 411 on the Chicken Cheat Sheet: • I can't link a video because Flatmates has rules against external links, but I can provide a video of what she sounds like if requested. A vast majority of the time she is totally quiet and only makes noise for a good reason; usually asking to be let out of the cage in the morning, wanting food, or the excitement of spotting her favourite humans again after they've been away for a bit. • There are two kinds of bites: Exploration/play bites and Defense bites. The first type is inevitable and doesn't hurt. The second is what you deserve if you ignore her very obvious body language. If you watch for what I tell you to watch for you'll never experience it (not that its all that bad anyway, but your finger will be really sore and will draw blood). • No Teflon/non-stick pans. The fumes generated from these items is horrifically toxic to birds and will kill them before anyone can react. While it may just mean she is forbidden to enter the kitchen while someone is cooking, I am prepared to purchase some cast iron, stoneware or ceramic crockery for the use of the house. • NO SELF-CLEANING OVEN CYCLES. Carbon Monoxide is generated in this process and is instantly lethal to a bird even in minute quantities. The whole "Canary in a coal mine" thing? This is the gas that killed those canaries with the kitchen being the new coal mine. Do not use oven self-cleaning cycles. • Normal oven use is fine, FYI. • Do not use uncovered bladed fans, such as in the ceiling. When a flying animal is present, the reasoning should be obvious. Don't be put off by the detail I go into here. I'm actually quite laid back and really just want a decently sized, modern room with some bits of furniture, high-quality internet and a reliable parking spot. Most things bird-related boil down to don't self clean the oven, don't overheat your Teflon and monitor her body language. She will rapidly ingrate herself with everyone and in no time you'll be praying for the fluff-mountain to grace your shoulders. As a bonus, she smells really nice! I look forward to hearing from you if you are offering the sort of accommodation I'm after. Best of luck in your search for a housemate otherwise! Best regards, Daniel

Available 28 December 2020

Daisy

Early bird

$300/week26 year old female

***Please read my profile before messaging, I’ve had too many messages from people who haven’t read my listing and then tell me the property isn’t child-friendly, which is a waste of both of our time. Hello! I'm Daisy, and I'm looking for a place for myself and my sweet baby boy to stay. I'm not currently employed as I am staying at home with my son, but I am also studying law. I'm a qualified early childhood educator and have previously worked as a pre-school teacher and nanny. I also enjoy writing and painting, and spend a lot of time working on assorted projects. I plan on returning to work when my son is a bit older, or when I can move my study load to part time. (My employment status does not affect my ability to pay rent though). I have a lot of interests, but am a bit of an old soul at heart, so in the evenings you'll more than likely find me curled up with a blanket, a cup of tea, and a good movie or a good book. Having said that though, I'm always up for a chat! As biased as it might sound, my son is a cherub. He's a generally happy little tyke who is very smiley and social, and he doesn't make too much noise or take up too much room. He's just happy reading books or playing on his playmat, but I also take him for walks to the park pretty often! Obviously he is solely my responsibility, so you needn't worry about me asking you for help with him. Together we're a quiet and friendly little duo. I also have a small group of friends who will occasionally come over to visit to hang out and watch movies and talk about life. Feel free to send me a message if it sounds like we could be mates! ***Please note I am not looking to move in to a house with more than 2 housemates or with a shared bathroom, and I am not looking at moving into an apartment on anything higher than the ground floor, so please only message me if the property fits that criteria (and is child friendly).

Available Now