Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Alphington Housemates & Roommates

Viewing 1-12 of 61 results



Early bird

$300/week27 year old female

Hey folks! My partner Craig and I (and our fur baby, 5 year old greyhound named Willie) are relocating to Melbourne from Adelaide for work and study opportunities that have opened up for us and we’re looking for a temporary place to stay while we’re applying for a rental property of our own. We understand that temporary housemates are not always ideal for a lease holder so we’re happy to work around dates that suit you. A bit about us: Taila, 27 year old female, has just graduated from her Bachelor’s degree in Psychological Science and will be entering a Masters in Clinical Psychology mid-year. She has studied full time for the past 4 years, while also maintaining part time employment in various industries including hospitality, retail, arts and design, as well as her current job as a nanny. Taila is very down to earth and friendly, and can often be found making art or reading in her spare time. Craig, 28 year old male, has worked as a qualified chef for 8 years as well as owing his own home maintenance business. Craig prides himself on being a fixer and maker (if you need anything fixed around the house he’d be happy to help). He’s a very friendly, funny, and helpful person and always a delight to be around. Willie, 5 year old male greyhound, unfortunately been unemployed for the past 3 years as he is happily retired from racing and enjoying a life of snoozing, cuddling, and eating snacks (but he won’t steal yours we promise). He’s very low maintenance but always up for a pat, house trained, and he spends A LOT of time sleeping in his bed. We have an extremely good rental history, with both of us having rented homes for over 10 years with no issues. We’ve both acquired employment as soon as we move and have more than enough funds to pay rent in advance. We are able to move as of 2nd of March but we’re flexible with those dates. Please message us if you think we’re a good fit. We look forward to hearing from you! We’re currently in Adelaide so we won’t be able to meet for an interview but we’re happy to chat over a Skype phone call, FaceTime or phone call.

Available 1 March 2020


Free to message

$200/week38 year old male

Seeking to make a happy, long-term home in inner North around mid-March. New to Melbourne in 2019. I come with books, plants, pots and paintings. Outside my full-time work, I love a chat as well as my own time, to cook for others, read and be involved in community. I enjoy making a tidy and fresh home (versus house), market and Aldi shopping(!) and cycling to work (my car is mostly for weekends, if at all). I enjoy hiking, gym, yoga, hanging/cooking with friends and the occasional dinner out. Art, books, ideas, science and nature lover. Bent/dark/goofy/deft/Minchin/Connolly humour welcome. I aim to eat down the food-chain, mostly veges with some 'roo and dairy although am happy to be vegetarian at home (my last sharehouse was vegetarian which I loved). I'm a single, hetero, cis, country (as in need greenery), non-smoking, barely-drinking, currently-bearded queer-friendly guy. I'm *not* responsible around gelato, dark chocolate, dumplings, book or plant sales, stationary, camping stores or cheese sales. I work in public policy on strategic and institutional issues to address climate-intersectional challenges and do research on the side. In living arrangements, I really enjoy pooling resources and putting investing energy to make a dwelling a welcoming home, especially through shared shopping and cooking, and enjoying and being a gentle presence. While kids love me and are welcome to visit, I'd like to live in and help make a homespace with one or more adults. Pets are all super welcome although I currently have none of my own. I tend to rise with the sun and enjoy warm, well-lit spaces with people who enjoy chewing over progressive ideas as much as what's on the plate. I've tended to make life-long friends with housemates (even o/s travel together). If there is creativity, contribution and goofy bursts in your world too (of any kind) we'll probably get on great. [P.S. even if I'm not a fit for you I'd welcome your leads to make-home with others]

Available 24 March 2020