Ready to get started?

Get started…

List my placeFind a place

Coburg Housemates & Roommates

Viewing 25-36 of 129 results
Leon
Updated

Leon

Early bird

$175/week30 year old man

Well first things first, I have a sweet, affectionate cat and a kelpie cross. They're both completely house-trained, my cat is indoor-only and my dog is primarily indoors too (he's very cat-like). I have a car and take my dog with me whenever possible, but will be finding a regular petsitter to take him when I can't take him with me (unless my future housemate/s want him all to themselves when I'm out). As for me, well I'm a trans guy (I came out and started transitioning last year) with an eclectic range of interests who's returning to Melbourne after several years back home in the Snowy Mountains. I initially moved home to address some health issues and I've spent the past few years recovering and working on myself (including coming to terms with my gender and sexuality). I've had a passion for social justice issues since I was about 15 or 16 and that remains the one constant in my life. I am always learning and trying to work out how to do things more effectively whether that be communication with the people (or animals!) in my life, learning to live a healthy/balanced life, or helping to build class consciousness in those around me (I'm a socialist whilst also being humble and respectful of where other people are at - I prefer not to talk politics at home or in situations where it's not constructive). As for what I'm like to live with, I'm an introvert and like to just chill at home in a calm environment so that I can focus my energy towards building a life for myself. The most important thing I'm looking for in housemates is good communication. Sharehousing is always a complicated business and seldom perfect, but if we can communicate genuinely and openly with each other then we can work through most issues. Whilst I have friends in Melbourne already, I'm totally open to making new ones. I usually have a high need for space so living with other people who are understanding of personal space is ideal. Don't get wrong though, I will absolutely join for shenanigans if that's on the table. I have a Switch and an Xbox One - love a good adventure game or literally anything with horses in it. Happy to bring either out for a couch co-op sesh. I am both a clean and a messy person, I have a high standard for what constitutes "clean" (6 years in hospitality will do that) but I often go in cycles of letting things go a bit and then blitzing everything. I prefer to live with other people who are similar - generally tidy but aren't too fussy if things get a little out of order. Consideration and empathy is key, and I'm happy to fit into any existing system for household maintenance. I am a house proud person and would love a place that I can feel is my home; I'm pretty handy with making the place look nice. I usually cook in bulk for myself as whilst I'm a pretty good cook, I like to conserve my energy for other things rather than cooking a meal from scratch every night. Happy to share a drink and a meal every now and then too. As for the financials, my credit score is 740, I will be looking for part-time work once I move (as I will be enrolling in full-time TAFE) and I will have savings set aside to buffer the transition. Hoping to move somewhere with responsible and reliable folks. Let me know if you'd like to know anything else about me if this essay isn't comprehensive enough, haha. The most important thing for me is to have a safe and harmonious home environment (for me, my furkids and my housemates). Move-in date is flexible (I live in the country right now and need to prepare my horse for sale, so the move-in date depends on that), and I'm looking for something stable and long-term.

Available 1 October 2021